Mad Max: Fury Road

I awoke and took the bus on my way to one of those employee development meetings. We had one of the Oakland city council members give one of her inspirational speeches. I needed some fresh air after two hours. I went outside and used my computer to buy two videos and renew my California football season ticket. I stuck around for lunch, which was a roast beef sandwich, and then I had to go back to work. When I returned home, I watched the Johnny Carson show from January 21, 1992 with Elizabeth Taylor and Michael Douglas. Michael Douglas talked about how nervous he was about appearing on the Tonight Show in 1971. I watched the first half hour of “A Walk in the Woods.” If Bill Bryson really tried to make that joke in the store, his sense of humor must be terrible. I took out the Blu-ray disc of “Mad Max: Fury Road” that I bought months ago and watched it until the early hours of the morning. It was not as powerful on television, but I did catch quite a bit of visual detail that I didn’t see from viewings in 3-D. I also watched the movie with the English subtitles, which made me realize that I didn’t hear a lot of the dialogue too clearly in the theatre. The movie could have used its own glossary, although there weren’t as many new words and terms as in “A Clockwork Orange.” The subtitles also allowed me to catch what some of the characters’ names were. One flaw in Charlize Theron was in the way she said “It’s not his blood.” She should have emphasized the word “his.” I couldn’t see how they could have used that tree to get the rig out of the sand. At the end, Max is standing between that redhead wife and Furiosa, and then she mysteriously appears in the middle of the crowd. I kept thinking that a hint about the sequel was the appearance of the satellite. Is anyone in this world going to venture outside Australia? Some of the people who died on January 21 include George Orwell (1950), Cecil B. DeMille (1959), Ann Sheridan (1967), Jackie Wilson (1984), Susan Strasberg (1997), Jack Lord (1998), and Peggy Lee (2002). Today is a birthday for Geena Davis (60), Mac Davis (74), Placido Domingo (75), and Jack Nicklaus (76). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for January 21, Cecil B. DeMille died of heart failure in 1959. In 1973, Leslie Nielsen was a guest on an episode of “MASH.” In 1983, Yes had the Number One single “Owner of a Lonely Heart.” In 1995, “Forrest Gump” won three Golden Globe Awards.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

