Birdman

I went out to go to a meeting. The breakfast left me with a bad feeling, and I would get nauseous later. I was discouraged at the way the rain was coming down. I saved my lunch for a later time, when my stomach settled down. Back at home, I watched the Partridge Family episode “Why Did the Music Stop?” I noticed that Laurie was peeling potatoes but not eating any. I found it hard to believe that she would refer to Richard Mulligan as “Dr. Groovy.” I also watched the Star Trek animated episode “The Lorelei Signal.” A nap made me feel better. I brought out the Blu-ray disc of “Birdman” and watched it. I think my favorite shot of the movie was in the liquor store with the colored lights. Actually, the entire movie was made to look like one continuous shot, although there are supposed to be sixteen visible cuts in the movie. I appreciated some of the things that Michael Keaton did. I’m not sure that I wanted to see so much of his flesh, however. I had to stop and think about that cab driver who wanted his money from Keaton. Edward Norton made me think back to “Fight Club.” The one thing his character said that made sense was about the repetitive nature of the script. The first shot of Emma Stone shows her on a computer screen, which was appropriate given her preoccupation with social media. I couldn’t understand why she had to be a blonde for this movie, unless it was to give an impression of Lindsay Lohan. I don’t think I care too much about the lives of actors. If they had their success, they have to expect that the fame will someday fade. Naomi Watts was one of my favorite people in the cast. I had to feel that the drums on the soundtrack were too intrusive during some moments. I don’t really think of Michael Keaton as Batman. To me, he was the guy in “Night Shift,” “Mr. Mom,” and “Beetlejuice.” He was a person who worked on the Mr. Rogers show. This movie did have some funny moments, although I think I laughed out loud only once. I wouldn’t think that CGI was necessary for a movie like this, so I didn’t really like the weird stuff at the end. I’m not sure why this movie won the Best Picture Oscar. I think that like for “Shakespeare in Love,” a lot of actors like to vote for movies that show what they do. Emma Stone was some good scenes. You had to notice her eyes, especially in that last shot. It felt like a long time ago that I saw this movie for the first time. It’s possible that Michael Keaton gave the performance of his lifetime in “Birdman.” He deserves credit for hanging in there for all those years. “Birdman” does have a strong quality to it, and I think I’ll enjoy watching it for years to come. It made me think of “Day for Night,” except looking at a Broadway play instead of a film. I watched the Johnny Carson show from October 15, 1987. He made jokes about Robert Bork, the NFL player strike, and the Giants. His guest was Tim Conway. I went out to buy a feel burrito so that I could have something to eat while I was watching the NUMB3RS episode “Trouble in Chinatown.” The crimes that were shown were rather disturbing, and I was sorry to see these Asian people portrayed as so wild. I watched the news about the blizzard to hit Washington. It seemed that Charlotte was having bad weather, so I wondered what their playoff game would be like. It would be terrible if the Panthers made it to the Super Bowl and the cold weather prevented people from getting out of Charlotte. I saw that Steve Kerr returned to the Warriors, who won their game against the Pacers by 12 points. The highlight I kept seeing over and over was Stephen Curry making a three-point shot at the end of the first half. Fans are looking forward to see the matchup with the Spurs. Steven Tyler was the guest on the Stephen Colbert show, but it was not enough to make me want to stay up. Some of the people who died on January 23 include Edvard Munch (1944), Samuel Barber (1981), George Cukor (1983), Salvador Dali (1989), Johnny Carson (2005), and Jack La Lanne (2011). Today is a birthday for Robin Zander (63), Chesley Sullenberger (65), Rutger Hauer (72) and Chita Rivera (83). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for January 23, the first induction day for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1986 recognized Chuck Berry, Ray Charles, Sam Cooke, Fats Domino, the Everly Brothers, Buddy Holly, Jerry Lee Lewis, Little Richard, and Elvis Presley. In 1997, Richard Berry, composer of “Louie Louie,” died in his sleep at age 61 in Los Angeles.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

