Kung Fu Panda 3

We were glad to have a sunny day here, even though the morning was cold and windy. My parents phoned me briefly. After I bought some food at Trader Joe’s, I took the bus to Jack London Square. I was there for “Kung Fu Panda 3.” I took a walk around to Bed Bath and Beyond and thought about taking up soda making, something I’d thought about since I first saw “The Coca-Cola Kid.” I think a lot of families were out seeing “Kung Fu Panda 3” because there were no NFL games during the weekend. In my memory, “Kung Fu Panda” was an amusing movie, but I thought remember much about “Kung Fu Panda 2.” I thought this latest movie had a weak plot and weak humor. I don’t think we want to see all these characters immobilized and seen as easy to defeat. That devalues them. I would have liked more of Mantis and Seth Rogen’s humor. In his other movies, I was starting to get a little tired of him based on “The Night Before.” I liked Dustin Hoffman as Shifu. I don’t remember the last time he made me laugh in a comedy because he didn’t make me laugh in “Meet the Fockers.” Po thinks he’s in training when he’s with the pandas when he’s actually learning the worst of their habits, at least in terms of being a warrior. If Po is too dumb to see any of this, he can’t become any kind of master. I didn’t realize that Kate Hudson’s voice was in there until I saw the end credits. I would say that I hated the idea of turning the negative panda characteristics into positives through teamwork and sheer numbers. They were all preparing for an attack, but the whole thing didn’t have the feel of the village in “The Seven Samurai.” I thought that Bryan Cranston was a good presence in the film. Normally, I like what James Hong does, but the writers gave him some lines that made me cringe. I thought that any attempt to say anything about parenthood in this story was truly foolish. I wished the story had gone in another direction. The movie made me dislike all pandas. I thought that Jack Black sounded like he was desperately trying to make this material acceptable to the audience, at least the adults. I didn’t notice what Jackie Chan did. I wanted Tigress to do more. J.K. Simmons was a villain in “Whiplash,” and he continues to be a great villain type in this movie. I kept thinking of how bad “Shrek the Third” was. I thought “Kung Fu Panda 3” showed a creative rut and didn’t make a fourth movie look good. There was a flashback to Po’s mother which seemed unnecessary. Was this supposed to make us understand Po? I thought the kids were getting restless during the movie because the story wasn’t going anywhere. It seemed that most of the audience thought the movie was entertaining. Maybe when the kids grow up, they will see that there aren’t many good movies out in the theatres. It was four o’clock when I went the theatre, and I took two buses back home. I listened to Robert Hilburn’s Rock ‘n’ Roll Times program on KCSN which was a repeat of The Everly Brothers, Simon and Garfunkel, and The Judds. One song I really liked was “Kathy’s Song.” I watched a Johnny Carson program that had Joan Embrey, Peter Falk, and David Brenner for guests. The show was from September 13, 1974, and they mentioned the fact that it was Friday the 13th. Falk said that the latest episode was one of the best, and it was called An Exercise in Fatality.” Some of the people who died on February 1 include Mary Shelley (1851), Piet Mondrian (1944), Buster Keaton (1966), Heather O’Rourke (1988), Herb Caen (1997), and Don Cornelius (2012). Today is a birthday for Jerry Spinelli (75), Don Everly (79), and Garrett Morris (79). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for February 1, “The Misfits,” featuring the last movie performances from Marilyn Monroe and Clark Gable, was released in 1961. In 1967, the Beatles started recording their song “Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band.” In 1976, “Rich Man, Poor Man” made its debut on ABC. In 2012, Don Cornelius committed suicide at age 75.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

