Raiders of the Lost Ark

I prepared to give my class a quiz. I had thoughts of the Super Bowl and went out to my ATM for some cash for some souvenirs. I had a hamburger for lunch and had to address a student’s problem before going to class. After it was over, I went over to the record store and looked through the Blu-ray bins. I thought about buying another Pixar movie, but instead went with “One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest.” I didn’t like the way that the Big Bang Theory episode was going, so I walked over to the theatre for the Flashback Feature, “Raiders of the Lost Ark.” It was something of a shock that it’s been nearly 35 years since the movie was released in theatres. A couple of the things I thought about the beginning sequence was that the bag couldn’t have weighed as much as the idol, and those guys with the bows and arrows were terrible with their weapons. I didn’t think that the man who died looked anything like Alfred Molina. Indiana Jones as a professor seemed like he was terrible because he was never on campus. He said that he would be in his office on Thursday, but not on Wednesday. It looked like he didn’t even show up on Thursday but instead went off on that trip to see Karen Allen. I couldn’t believe that she was stupid enough to leave the medallion out in the open. Five thousand dollars must have been a lot of money back in 1936. I wonder if she ever got that money. You have to give Marion credit for being able to handle a machine gun. I found it hard to believe that Marion could keep her eyes closed at the critical moment to prevent her face from melting. One thing that was really distracting to me was the fly that landed on Belloq’s lip. Indy’s threat to blow up the ark was not a good tactic exactly for the reason Belloq gave. I always wondered what happened in the aftermath of the opening of the ark. Was there any story in how Indy and Marion got to Washington? The ark has been in that warehouse for 80 years now. I didn’t really like how the ending was an homage to “Citizen Kane.” I wondered what Indy was writing in his notebook. I don’t think it was phone numbers. Outside of Harrison Ford, Karen Allen, and Denholm Elliott, I didn’t know many of the actors. One of the people sitting near me was impressed with the way Indy used his whip to stay with the truck. It was a decent turnout for a movie that has been available on home video for years. I wondered how they handled the monkey. It did manage to imitate a Hitler salute, which I think many people in the audience did not catch. Back in 1981, some people thought this was the greatest movie ever made. It seems short on real emotion when I see it now. It seemed like everyone wanted to have Marion as a possession. I saw her as a woman that I would get tired of pretty quickly. We had a lot of fun watching those summer movies during the early 1980s. The special effects at the end didn’t look as good as they did 35 years ago, and I was glad this wasn’t a movie dependent on CGI. Seeing Harrison Ford up on that big screen, I was struck by how much older he looked in the last Star Wars movie. “Raiders of the Lost Ark” was released a few months after Ronald Reagan became president and the Raiders won the Super Bowl in New Orleans. Some of the people who died on February 5 include Emeric Pressburger (1988), Dean Jagger (1991), Joseph L. Mankiewicz (1993), and Doug McClure (1995). Today is a birthday for Jennifer Jason Leigh (54), Barbara Hershey (68), and Hank Aaron (82). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for February 5, The Smothers Brothers Comedy Hour debuted on CBS in 1967. In 1979, the Bee Gees released their 15th album, “Spirits Having Flown.” In 1999, the Mel Gibson movie “Payback” was released.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

