Crazy, Stupid, Love

I was slow to get up out of bed, and I watched a bit of television before heading to the office. I used a gift certificate to order a copy of the Blu-ray Criterion Collection edition of “The Emigrants” and “The New Land.” I worked for a while preparing for class, and I went out to have a burger for lunch. I gave a lecture that was rather difficult, and then handed out a quiz. I was glad to finish up my teaching for the week, and I headed for the record store. I bought what I thought was a used Blu-ray disc of “Monsters, Inc.,” but then I discovered that the disc inside was a DVD. I was frustrated that I would have to exchange it. I walked over to the theatre for the Flashback Feature of the night, which was “Crazy, Stupid, Love.” I thought there were problems with the script, with too many coincidences and a hard to believe relationship between Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling. I thought that Steve Carell had some effective scenes in conveying the pain of separation and divorce. I wondered if the screenwriter had experienced divorce. I found it a bit hard to believe that no one suspected what was going on with the babysitter. It seemed that she would have more sense than to take those photos of herself. Don’t teenagers ever show any common sense? I sympathized with Steve Carell’s character at times. I wouldn’t be able to stand a woman trying to talk to me about divorce and going on and on about it. I think I would do more than just jump out of the car. It’s too bad that Julianne Moore’s character had to be foolish enough to latch onto Kevin Bacon, whose character was something of a dick. Kevin Bacon actually thought that “Tremors” was a low point in his career. Ryan Gosling reminded me of John Malkovich in “Dangerous Liaisons.” I thought he was reasonably good in his role until Emma Stone came to see him, and then he was hard to believe. Marisa Tomei was part of one of those unnecessary coincidences. I thought of her in “Love the Coopers” as I watched her here. Emma Stone did not have the best role of her career with this movie, and I thought she was much better in “Birdman.” Steve Carell had moments that made me wince, like his comment that his children were perfect, and that 13-year-olds were right in their ideas about love. I guess then that it’s not a surprise that American adults never grow up and carry asinine ideas for the rest of the lives. Hey, maybe the youngest daughter should have been given more screen time. She was the only one who didn’t get the chance to make a fool of herself. Did anyone challenge the practice of eighth grade graduation? Everything was headed towards this comic collision where embarrassing or painful or terrible things are all revealed. I have to admit that I laughed at this wacky scene, although it was too much to happen all that once. It was not quite something like, say, “Tootsie.” I didn’t see how Ryan Gosling’s behavior could change. I just didn’t see a reason. The only good thing he did was put on a record of Doris Troy’s “Just One Look.” Well, he did get rid of Steve Carell’s shoes. I thought that Josh Groban’s big scene felt false, with this big buildup of making an announcement in front of a group of people. I’m not sure that a person like him could be that oblivious. Steve Carell’s speech about soulmates went on for too long. “Crazy, Stupid, Love” was released five years ago, and to me, it wasn’t aging very well, although it got some applause from the audience. I wondered about the person who wrote the screenplay, and if there were autobiographical elements in the screenplay. I was lukewarm on this movie. I liked Steve Carell and Julianne Moore, and I wanted to like Marisa Tomei and Kevin Bacon. I couldn’t stand the younger people. The really terrible scene was the babysitter walking into the room without knocking, which was something of a Fast Times at Ridgemont High moment. Songs by Talking Heads and Spandau Ballet were on the soundtrack. The movie ended at about 11:05, and I walked home to see Garry Shandling again on the Johnny Carson show. I was glad that I had a holiday so that I could work fewer hours this week. I got a message from my friend telling me that we should look into the possibility of going to Houston for next year’s Super Bowl. The logistics would be much more difficult. Where would we stay? How much would it all cost? I heard that Santa Clara might host the Super Bowl again in six years. I don’t have a sporting event to attend for a while, so I will go to the movies on the weekends. Are people going to go out to see “Deadpool”? Apparently, the theatre at Jack London Square isn’t showing “Kung Fu Panda 3” in 3D anymore. I could go to see “Brooklyn” for the third time. I know that that was a movie that I liked. I saw a trailer for “Zoolander 2.” I was getting a bad feeling about the movie, partly because it seemed that Ben Stiller was getting too old for such a role. I thought too much about racial issues and the lack of diversity in the acting Academy Award nominations. I wanted to know why black and non-white were synonymous in the media coverage, as if no one else like Latinos existed. I didn’t get the chance to read the article about David Bowie in Rolling Stone magazine. I wanted to know what he had been doing during these last years. I haven’t listened to his last album yet. The morning news told us that the Raiders would be playing at the Coliseum this year. We hadn’t received any notices for season ticket renewals, and one home game will be in Mexico City. I don’t have any plans for Valentine’s Day, but I think I will go to the theatre at Jack London Square. I thought about which other Criterion Collection discs I wanted to buy. After “The Graduate” and “The Kid,” I would like to get the other Chaplin films because I know that I will always watch them. Some of the people who died on February 12 include Sal Mineo (1976), Jean Renoir (1979), Charles Schulz (2000), David Groh (2008), Betty Garrett (2011), and Kenneth Mars (2011). Today is a birthday for Josh Brolin (48), Arsenio Hall (60), Michael McDonald (64), and Judy Blume (84). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for February 12, in 1968 “In the Heat of the Night” won the Golden Globe Award for best drama film, while “The Graduate” won the award for best musical or comedy, and “Mission: Impossible” won for best television show. In 1975, Olivia Newton-John’s album “Have You Never Been Mellow” was released. In 1988, “Action Jackson,” starring Carl Weathers, was released.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

