Ingrid Bergman in Her Own Words

I had a peaceful morning doing my laundry to start the holiday. I also shopped for groceries and visited the record store before taking a walk to the theatre for “Ingrid Bergman in Her Own Words.” Some of the footage was from Bergman herself. She saved everything in her lifetime. One of the things that influenced her life was seeing the Roberto Rossellini film “Open City.” I suppose it was worth it to her to wreck her career to be with this man, even though her marriage to him didn’t last. Isabella was one of the children who came out of that marriage. “Blue Velvet” wouldn’t have been the same. I was rather amazed that in interviews, the children didn’t have much to say that was negative about their mother, even though she kept leaving them behind. There was a lot of footage that I had never seen before, and it seemed that there was a lot of home movie shots. It reminded me of “Capturing the Friedmans.” Isabella talked about living in a space for kids, with something of a playground for a living room. Her mother took two years off work to look after her after she had back surgery. I think of Ingrid mostly for “Casablanca” and the Hitchcock films “Spellbound” and “Notorious.” I thought those were the greatest moments of her career. Things would have changed in her life, anyway, without Rossellini. She looked different in the 1950s. She didn’t have that immaculate, youthful Hollywood look to her. We see Ed Sullivan asking viewers if she should be on his show because of her controversial image, don’t we don’t get any samples of the responses. A lot of photographers are around taking pictures of Ingrid at airports. We see her daughter at 18 visiting her in Europe. Cary Grant accepts her Oscar for “Anastasia” for her. Did I ever see “Cactus Flower”? I think I did, and I remember it as a significant marker in her career. There wasn’t a mention of “Murder on the Orient Express.” She did win an Oscar for that picture, although it wasn’t one of her greatest roles. A lot of time was spent on “Autumn Sonata,” which had one of Ingrid Bergman’s best performances, and it seemed to be a reflection of things that might have gone on in her real life. Sigourney Weaver and Liv Ullmann appear for an interview. Sigourney was a young woman when she was in a play with Ingrid. I was a bit surprised that both Sigourney and Liv were showing some age in their faces. I like both of them, and I’m glad that their faces don’t have that plastic surgery look. The movie doesn’t linger on Ingrid’s cancer and final days. She was 67 when she died in 1982. She has been a figure in popular culture largely because of “Casablanca.” Woody Guthrie wrote a song about her. I liked seeing this documentary, but I don’t think I wanted this much of her at one sitting. Some sections of her life that we wanted to know about were missing. What happened to that marriage to Rossellini? It just seems that his films weren’t making a ton of money, and there was some strain in their relationship, and then they’re apart from each other. If he made such a deep impression on her, why didn’t the marriage last? It was just after three when the movie ended. It made me miss those days when Ingrid Bergman and Grace Kelly were still alive. I spent some time in the record stores looking at their used Blu-ray discs. I bought the Partridge Family CD “Crossword Puzzle” and went home. I checked my message and saw one from the Raiders informing us that season ticket renewal information would be sent next week. I also noticed some news from the A’s about a trade with the Milwaukee Brewers. I watched the Partridge Family episode “They Shoot Managers, Don’t They?” They had a barbecue in one scene, but I didn’t see Laurie eating any of the hamburgers. I saw Jackie Gleason on the Tonight Show from 1985. He praised Art Carney. Checking my blog, I saw sudden, numerous hits on the entry for “Melvin and Howard.” I could not figure out why the entry for “Talladega Nights” has been getting a steady number of hits practically every day. I wanted to sleep late, but I have to go back to work for four hours on a Saturday morning. It is an interruption to the flow of this weekend. I don’t want to see the Grammys. I wonder what is going on in the mind of Kanye West, but not that much. Some of the people who died on February 13 include Richard Wagner (1883), David Janssen (1980), Martin Balsam (1996), Waylon Jennings (2002), and Dale Hawkins (2010). Today is a birthday for Henry Rollins (55), Peter Gabriel (66), Stockard Channing (72), Jerry Springer (72), Peter Tork (74), Kim Novak (82), George Segal (83), and Chuck Yeager (93). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for February 13, Led Zeppelin had to cancel a concert in Singapore because authorities wouldn’t let them leave their plane due to their long hair. In 1982, someone stole the 300-pound marker at Ronnie Van Zant’s grave. In 1997, Michael Jackson and Debbie Rowe became the parents of a baby boy named Prince. In 2004, astronomers announced the discovery of a white dwarf star, a diamond-like object which they nicknamed Lucy.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

