Zoolander 2

I woke up and watched CBS Sunday Morning. One segment showed Ryan O’Neal and Ali MacGraw performing “Love Letters.” My parents phoned me, and my mother showed that she didn’t have much energy for conversation. I went out grocery shopping. I took the bus out to Jack London Square to see a movie. A lot of people were out to see “Deadpool.” I had already seen it, so I decided on “Zoolander 2.” It seemed that there wasn’t nearly as much enthusiasm for the Zoolander movie. We see Justin Bieber in the first scene. His face is getting older, and probably not so appealing to the young girls out there. A lot of people play themselves in this movie, and the key person is Sting. Ben Stiller is an older Derek Zoolander. Owen Wilson is an older Hansel. I wished they could have used some different songs in this sequel, rather than “Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go” and “Relax.” We didn’t want so much of the first movie to be in this one. We get Sting instead of David Bowie. Kiefer Sutherland shows up, and his supposedly funny lines are strained. In the entire movie, I laughed out loud once, when Derek tries the Magnum on a knife. Will Ferrell was back as Mugatu, but I wished he’d played a different character. What made the first movie so funny, while this sequel was tired? Either we got sick of Derek’s stupidity, or he wasn’t stupid enough. The cameos were not so funny. I almost expect to see a sudden appearance by Katy Perry in movies like this. I thought that Matilda was amusing in the first movie, and it would have been good to see more of her in this one. It was too long between the two movies, certainly, and Ben Stiller had already done things like “Tropic Thunder” in the meantime. The movie opened at the same time as “Deadpool,” which was more exciting to the audience out there. What was Ben Stiller’s last movie? I did see him in “While We’re Young.” His character was stuck in one place in his career, while a younger person was advancing through questionable tactics. Owen Wilson didn’t have the chance to be hilarious. I don’t recall a scene that was as funny as the 2001 parody in the first Zoolander. Are people getting tired of Will Farrell? Wasn’t he in a movie just a few weeks ago where he was a stepfather? As I watched the end credits, a girl came over to take the seat next to me for the next showing, and she asked me what the movie was like. I generously said that it was OK, even though it was something less than OK. It was a movie that was made because it had some chance to make a bit of money, even though in retrospect the timing was off. Stiller should have found a different way to lampoon the rich and famous. One thought that lingered in my mind was the death of Anne Meara. How can you continue trying to be funny after the death of one of your parents? I headed back home on the buses. I did not watch the NBA All-Star Game. The West would score nearly 200 points, so it couldn’t have been anything like a real game. I listened to the Robert Hilburn Rock ‘n’ Roll Times radio program on KCSN. It was a tribute to David Bowie, with a few songs from his last album, which was supposed to be pretty good, along with classics like “Space Oddity,” “Rebel Rebel,” and “Heroes.” I watched a bit of Johnny Carson from February 14, 1979, and his guests were Johnny Yune, Charlton Heston, and Blair Brown. Johnny Yune had some difficulty with his delivery. Charlton Heston talked about the play “A Man for All Seasons.” He was between performances. Blair Brown had longer hair than I recalled, and she said that she was getting married, and she was also going to appear in “Altered States.” What did she say was in the isolation tank – magnesium sulfate? I saw a young Kim Cattrall and Dobermans in a Columbo episode from 1978, called “How to Dial a Murder.” Nicol Williamson was the villain, and he should have chosen a different key word. Some of the people who died on February 15 include Nat King Cole (1965), Wally Cox (1973), Ethel Merman (1984), Richard Feynman (1988), Howard K. Smith (2002), and Jan Miner (2004). Today is a birthday for Matt Groening (62) and Jane Seymour (65). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for February 15, Duke Ellington and his band recorded “Take the ‘A’ Train” in 1941. In 1961, Juanita Jones shot Jackie Wilson in the stomach, hospitalizing him for more than a month. In 1965, Nat King Cole died of lung cancer at age 45. In 1984, Ethel Merman died at age 76.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

