Star Wars: Episode II – Attack of the Clones

I was slowed down by an upset stomach, and a lack of hot water in the shower. I took the bus over to the Coffee Mill, where I bought a strawberry smoothie, and then I walked to the Grand Lake Theatre, where I saw “Hail, Caesar!” again. I liked the shot of the hill with the old cars parked on the street. I thought that Channing Tatum’s singing voice sounded flat. Josh Brolin did a good job. One funny thing was that this was the third movie I’ve seen in recent months that was set in 1951, along with “Carol” and “Brooklyn.” The afternoon was hot, and I felt that I really needed some rest, so I hurried home to take a nap. I watched episodes of All in the Family, The Mary Tyler Moore Show, and M*A*S*H, and then “Attack of the Clones.” I still rank this one as the worst of all the Star Wars movies. The opening mentions a separatist movement, a senator, and a vote, which are things we definitely don’t want to see in any Star Wars movie. Everyone seems to speak in a quiet, monotonous, low tone that makes it seem that nothing in the story is urgent. Are these characters like Anakin really feeling any passion at all? What is at the heart of this movie’s badness is Hayden Christensen, in both his performance and his character. He’s like a teenager with nothing to say, just this vague feeling of anger and rebellion. After he kills those women and children, how could Padmé sympathize with him? The first hour took forever, and the action sequences weren’t too good. One of the few actors I enjoyed watching was Christopher Lee. I thought there were some interesting things towards the end that reminded me of Ray Harryhausen. That sequence felt like it was a Star Wars version of “Gladiator.” I don’t know how it took two movies for George Lucas to get to the point in the story where he’s going to start moving towards the second trilogy. It felt like nothing happened in the first two episodes. I heard some news that the filming of Episode 8 was beginning. Please do not bring back Hayden Christensen. The images on the Star Wars Blu-ray discs looked sharp and sometimes impressive. It’s too bad that the content of the movie was so thin. At times I thought of “Willow,” which I thought was horrific. I watched the episode of the Tonight Show from February 9, 1983. Bette Davis and Richard Pryor were the guests. Bette Davis smoked and promoted her appearance at Tower Records in Westwood singing her record album. She said that she hadn’t appearance on the show since 1972. I heard the news that Vanity had died in a hospital in Fremont. She was only 57 years old. I remember that I liked “The Last Dragon.” I didn’t watch the Grammys, but I heard that Adele went through some technical problems and was going to treat herself to In N Out. Lady Gaga’s tribute to David Bowie was supposed to be a highlight. Taylor Swift won a second Album of the Year award, which I could not understand. Some of the people who died on February 16 include Roger Bowen (1996), Howard W. Koch (2001), Doris Troy (2004), and Lesley Gore (2015). Today is a birthday for John McEnroe (57) and LeVar Burton (59). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for February 16, George Harrison and John Lennon left for India to meet Maharishi Mahesh Yogi in 1968. In 1969, Tammy Wynette and George Jones were married in Ringgold, Georgia. In 2007, Britney Spears shaved her head after hairstylist Esther Tognozzi tried to talk her out of it.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

