L’écume des jours

I watched CBS This Morning and its chef segment. Kevin Gillespies’ signature dishes include: Coca-Cola glazed pork shoulder, cabbage dumplings with country sausage, overnight grits with tomato-braised greens, root vegetable soup, banoffee trifle with candied bacon, and peach party liquor. I looked up the American Top 40 playlist for the weekend. The Top 10 songs on February 21, 1976 were “Evil Woman,” “Take It to the Limit,” “Breaking Up is Hard to Do,” “All By Myself,” “I Write the Songs,” “Love Machine (Part 1),” “Love to Love You Baby,” “You Sexy Thing,” “Theme from ‘S.W.A.T.,’” and “50 Ways to Leave Your Lover.” After working my shift, I hurried off to catch the bus to the Rockridge BART station, and then I took a train to the Embarcadero station. I walked along Market Street until I got to the start of the parade route. I had a decent view but ended up standing near a teenage girl who had to comment on everything and wouldn’t shut up for two hours. I saw Mayor Ed Lee, the controversial chief of police, and the KTVU news anchors. I did touch three dragons. At 7:44, it was all over, and I headed for the bus station. I stopped to get a cheeseburger before I went home and watched Sandy Duncan and Steve Martin on the Tonight Show. I also watched “Mood Indigo,” the Michel Gondry film. I saw a movie that was fun to watch with a lot going on, as was the case with “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind.” I liked the scene with the split screen with rain and sun, set to the Boz Scaggs song “Lowdown.” It brought back memories of the time when Boz Scaggs was all over the radio. I thought about the technology in the movie. We see the pianocktail, which would be something great if it could be applied to some other drinks. Some of those early scenes made me think of Louis Malle’s “Zazie dans le metro.” I watched the director’s cut as opposed to the theatrical cut, so I never knew what was edited for length. The concept of the water lily in the lungs brought to my mind Ali MacGraw in “Love Story.” The movie didn’t really win me over. It made me tired most of all. Two of the people who died on February 21 were Malcolm X (1965) and Robin Moore (2008). Today is a birthday for Kelsey Grammer (61) and Anthony Daniels (70). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for February 21, Sly and the Family Stone had the Number One single in 1971, “Thank You.” In 1990, Milli Vanilli won the Grammy for Best New Artist.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

