Monsters, Inc.

I was back at work, and after I returned home, I ate a burrito and a salad and took a nap. I watched “Monsters, Inc.” on Blu-ray, and the one thing that impressed me the most was Sulley’s fur. You could see individual hairs very clearly in high definition. I would say that the combination of Billy Crystal and John Goodman was excellent for the comedy in the film. Watching this movie again reminded me of what great ideas were coming out of Pixar. I’m not convinced about the power of laughter over screams, however. It’s an idea that sits better with the kids, but I don’t see the evidence. You would think the monsters would do some research, or at least make an accidental discovery sooner than they did. It is funny how both John Goodman and Steve Buscemi do voices for this film, while this is something quite distant from “The Big Lebowski.” I got irritated with the concept of the lovable monster that is Sulley because that seemed contrary to what he was as a monster. I did, however, find the concept of the Abominable Snowman making snow cones rather amusing. He looked like he had just stepped out of a Christmas special. I also liked how James Coburn was part of the cast as I recalled his part in The Magnificent Seven. Somehow, the idea of monsters in the corporate world is both funny and not so great. You’d think there would be some unusual social structure there. I did like the shot that was a parody of “The Right Stuff,” although it looked like there were only two or three scary monsters in the whole company. Mike and Sulley should have been more manly and not been so scared of the child. They should have realized quickly that she was harmless, except for wandering off too much. It seemed like it would be impossible to find a particular door in that storage area after losing sight of it one time. The question is how could one specific door be accessed so quickly in that place? I wondered how much Sulley weighed, because I thought he was heavy enough to affect the machinery and the cables and such. I looked around for inconsistencies with “Monsters University” but couldn’t spot anything. I don’t recall whether I imagined there were monsters in my bedroom when I was a child. I remember watching movies with King Kong and Godzilla quite a bit. I came to have dreams in which people were the monsters, chasing after me and threatening me. Sulley was a bachelor, wasn’t he? Was there some explanation of why that was? There must be some aspect of his personality that makes it hard for him to get along with people. You can’t trust the monsters who show such strong paternal feelings. They are waiting to show their deeper, monstrous emotions. I kept wondering if the little girl’s parents didn’t notice that she was missing after a while. I noticed that the restaurant was named after Ray Harryhausen. I wondered about the point system for scaring. It seemed like it was difficult to score any points. The calibration should have been checked because I thought I saw some inconsistency there. It was too generous towards Sulley, I think. This movie was rated G, but it is rather scary for some very good children. I thought this was a better Pixar film than the last two I saw last year, “Inside Out” and “The Good Dinosaur.” I walked out to The Snack Shack and bought a pork sandwich and a banana milkshake. When I got home, I watched the Supergirl episode. During the night, I heard a news report of a 97-year-old woman with an 85-year-old roommate in Burlingame, both getting evicted. I thought that someone was going to come to their aid within the next sixty days. Some of the people who died on February 23 include John Quincy Adams (1848), Edward Elgar (1934), Stan Laurel (1965), and James Herriot (1995). Today is a birthday for Peter Fonda (76). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for February 23, MTV aired a weekend marathon of The Monkees television series in 1986, leading a revival of the group’s popularity. In 1991, Whitney Houston had the Number One single “All the Man That I Need.” In 1997, NBC aired “Schindler’s List” complete and unedited, without commercial interruptions.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

