Shurayuki-hime

I woke up to see a discussion of the Oscars on CBS This Morning. I watched the chef segment. Beau MacMillan’s signature dishes included Fiery lobster udon, Szechuan green beans, rock shrimp sticky rice, kimchi bacon and Brussels sprouts hash, and salted peanut and milk chocolate pie. I checked the American Top 40 playlist for this weekend. The Top 10 songs on February 25, 1978 were “How Deep is Your Love,” “Lay Down Sally,” “Night Fever,” “We Are the Champions/We Will Rock You,” “Dance, Dance, Dance (Yowsah, Yowsah,” Yowsah),” “Emotion,” “Sometimes When We Touch,” “Just the Way You Are,” “(Love Is) Thicker Than Water,” and “Stayin’ Alive.” I took the bus out to Emeryville to Best Buy, where I used my coupon to buy “Mean Streets” on Blu-ray. I went over to the Grand Lake Theatre for “Spotlight.” I don’t think I got much from seeing it a second time. I suppose I should give Rachel McAdams some more credit because she was better than she was in “Mean Girls.” I returned home and watched “Lady Snowblood: Love Song of Vengeance.” It felt like the model for “Kill Bill,” although this woman didn’t have an awesome sword. The one thing that was hard to believe in any of these martial arts films is how the men hold back and hesitate to give the person enough time to swing that blade. It seems they’ve never been trained to fight together. The movie is unusual right from the credits. I imagined what it would be like to see the movie in 1974, and I thought it would give me a massive headache. Lady Snowblood gets her foot caught in a trap, and so I expected some severe injury that would take more than a few days to heal. The character of Lady Snowblood doesn’t have the greatest depth. This is a widescreen film that doesn’t stay in the mind as long as “Lawrence of Arabia” did. I imagine it playing in a theatre on a Saturday afternoon, but I don’t know how many people would show up for a film in Japanese with English subtitles. It takes place in 1906, so guns do appear in action scenes, and so this is all not quite like a Mifune Kurosawa film like “Sanjuro.” I saw “Enter the Dragon” instead of this movie, like most people. I saw the Kung Fu television series. I kept thinking about how the characters bled in the movie. They either bled not at all, or dropped into the water with the blood gushing out immediately and prodigiously. This was the kind of movie that started fading from my mind right after it was over. I watched the Tonight Show with Patrick Duffy, Red Buttons, Ann Reinking, and William F. Buckley from February 12, 1980. One of the jokes Red Buttons told was blanked out. Ann Reinking talked about the new popularity of dance. Perhaps there was some carryover from the disco era and “Saturday Night Fever.” I thought she had gained some weight since her appearance in “All That Jazz.” She did talk about an injury she suffered some someone running into her. Some of the people who died on February 28 include Henry James (1916), Frankie Lymon (1968), Paul Harvey (2009), and Jane Russell (2011). Today is a birthday for Megan McDonald (57), Gilbert Gottfried (61), Bernadette Peters (68), Mario Andretti (76), and Gavin MacLeod (85). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for February 28, the Cavern Club in Liverpool closed in 1966 due to financial problems. In 1968, Frankie Lymon was found dead at age 25 in his grandmother’s bathroom. In 1970, Simon and Garfunkel had the Number One single, “Bridge Over Troubled Water.” In 1976, Rhythm Heritage’s “Theme from ‘S.W.A.T.’” was the Number One single. In 1983, the last episode of “M*A*S*H” aired on CBS.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

