The Dark Crystal

I did my work in the morning and sat through a webinar. I graded papers and made my way to a lecture. After it was over, I took the bus home. I went over to the record store and didn’t find any Blu-ray discs that I wanted, so I bought a mono CD copy of The Beatles’ white album. I went over to Bongo Burger for their turkey burger. I then walked over to the theatre to see the Flashback Feature of the night, which was “The Dark Crystal.” I can barely remember seeing this movie back in 1982. Reportedly, it had a bad preview in San Francisco, which prompted Jim Henson to make some changes. There is certainly a dead quality to it, with the creatures moving so slowly. I didn’t understand the thinking that children needed to experience something scary. The kids must have been shocked that something like this could follow “The Muppet Movie.” What happened to Kermit and the songs and the fun? I couldn’t stop thinking about David Bowie and “Labyrinth” as I watched this movie. I liked the look of the movie and all those puppets moving about the picture. I’m not sure I understand this movie’s popularity in Japan and in France. My attention drifted a lot. I think “The Dark Crystal” changed my feeling about The Muppets. They could never quite be as enjoyable to watch. I didn’t understand the sense of pacing. I would have thought that Henson could sense that things were moving too slowly. He made have been too wrapped up in his creations to know what was happening to the film. We in the audience really needed more than the puppets. They would have been impressive enough if we’d seen them up close and personal. There was a real down note to the ending, although I wasn’t quite sure why I should have cared. Maybe we needed to see at least one human character, as we saw in “Labyrinth.” The movie was short at 93 minutes. It seemed to need to be that short because of the restless children who watched it. I thought back on 1982. I had more energy back then, and more enthusiasm. I walked back home to watch the Johnny Carson show, which featured David Brenner and Christie Brinkley. I heard that the Warriors managed to beat the Oklahoma City Thunder. There was an interesting movie on television that had a good cast. Some of the people who died on March 4 include Mark Sandrich (1945), Richard Manuel (1986), Nestor Almendros (1992), John Candy (1994), Minnie Pearl (1996), and Horton Foote (2009). Today is a birthday for Patricia Heaton (58) and Catherine O’Hara (62). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for March 4, “The Great Ziegfeld” won the Best Picture Oscar in 1937. In 1977, the Rolling Stones performed at El Mocambo in Toronto, their show recorded for the album “Love You Live.” In 1989, Debbie Gibson had a Number One single, “Lost in Your Eyes.” Also in 1989, “Chip ‘n Dale Rescue Rangers” premiered on the Disney Channel.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

