Omohide poro poro

I went to work and watched the rain. I took the bus out to my ATM for a withdrawal. I went on to have a hamburger before heading to the theatre that was showing the Japanese animated film “Only Yesterday.” The title makes me think of The Carpenters, but the film really shows the life of a young woman named Taeko at two periods of her life, in 1966 when she is 11 years old, and in 1982 when she is 27. In her childhood, we see some moments in her life, like when she first eats a fresh pineapple, and she also talks about menstruation with a classmate. She has problems with math problems involving fractions, and she becomes interested in the idea of acting in a play. In the later sequences, she takes a vacation to go out to a rural area to work in the fields, which is a very curious thing to do. There are all sorts of scenes that have long silences that are supposed to be meaningful but really just make us feel uncomfortable. I had the strong feeling that the English dubbing detracted from the movie. I think it already had problems, because the main character was someone we lost patience with. Daisy Ridley and Dev Patel were the voices of the prominent characters, and their differing accents made it hard to believe in this story. It actually feels like the sense of timing is off throughout the entire movie. Everything moves too slowly, and the events don’t have as much impact as the filmmakers hope. There is a very uncomfortable scene where Taeko’s father slaps her. I thought some people got their ideas about Japanese culture from Miyazaki’s films. They didn’t understand the concept of not saying everything that is on your mind. Taeko does a lot of running away when she gets upset. We would have liked her more if she showed some sort of strength of character. I kept thinking right until the end that this was not a Studio Ghibli film that was of the top level. They had the look of the film down, but the emotional content was off. I noticed that the song played over the end credits was “The Rose” in Japanese. I would have to say that this film was something of a letdown. I think it made too much of an effort to be a drama, when the humorous parts had more potential. Many of the scenes were simply flat and not especially effective as either comedy or drama. A woman near me to my left complained about the movie. It was a hit in Japan in 1991, but it felt like its time had passed. I think I wanted it to be like something resembling “Peppermint Soda” from years ago. They had posters of the movie in the lobby, but I didn’t feel like picking one up because I already had too much stuff lying around my apartment. I returned home to watch the Tonight Show from March 21, 1985, which featured Candice Bergen. I also watched the Partridge Family episode “Not with My Sister, You Don’t” and the NUMB3RS episode “First Law.” I thought that Laurie was going to wear herself out preparing for four days for her date. Didn’t she still have work to do for her classes at San Pueblo High School? In fact, the San Pueblo High School sign looked like it had been slapped together and placed in an unlikely location. “I’ll Meet You Halfway” was one of the musical highlights of the series. Amita thought that she had interacted with a computer that had artificial intelligence. Charlie’s attempts to improve the Cal Sci basketball team seemed highly questionable. Some of the people who died on March 5 include Sergei Prokofiev (1953), Patsy Cline (1963), John Belushi (1982), William Powell (1984), Gary Merrill (1990), Richard Kiley (1999), and Geoff Edwards (2014). Today is a birthday for Penn Jillette (61). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for March 5, Rod Stewart met Britt Ekland at a party in Los Angeles in 1975. In 1982, John Belushi died of a drug overdose at the age of 33 at the Chateau Marmont in Hollywood. In 1993, Paul McCartney began a world concert tour at Subiaco Oval in Perth, Australia. In 2002, “The Osbournes” premiered on MTV.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

