The Brothers Grimsby

I watched CBS This Morning and the chef segment. Marcus Paslay’s signature recipes included Herb-crusted lamb, couscous salad with charred scallion vinaigrette, roasted beet and goat cheese salad, grilled asparagus, and cashew cake. I looked up the American Top 40 playlist for the weekend. The Top 10 songs on March 12, 1977 were “Go Your Own Way,” “Rich Girl,” “Year of the Cat,” “Torn Between Two Lovers,” “Dancing Queen,” “Blinded by the Light,” “Night Moves,” “I Like Dreamin’,” “Fly Like an Eagle,” and “Love Theme from ‘A Star is Born’ (Evergreen).” I went to work and had a rather tiring shift. I stopped to get a hamburger on my way to the theatre. I was there to see “The Brothers Grimsby.” Not many people were there for the 3:20 showing. Many people stayed at home because of the rain. I wouldn’t say that the story was too good, with a virus and soccer games and a long lost brother. What it has going for it is outrageous humor. In fact, I would say that this movie has the most ridiculously hilarious, or hilariously ridiculous, scene in any movie since the scene with the campfire and beans in “Blazing Saddles.” It involved elephants, and it had the audience laughed loudly and for a long time. I thought it was the only real reason to see the movie. The soccer bits made me think of “Rudo y Cursi,” and the spy bits made me think of various James Bond films. Rebel Wilson seemed to be an Australian Melissa McCarthy. Penelope Cruz has been a villain recently in “Zoolander 2,” and usually I like watching her. The glimpses of celebrities did give the movie a bit of a Zoolander feel to it. There was a bit of testicle humor that made me think of The Secret Policeman’s Other Ball. I also thought of the fake breasts in “There’s Something About Mary.” Sacha Baron Cohen’s character looks like Liam Gallagher, and we get Oasis on the soundtrack. The humor directed at Donald Trump felt like it was up to the minute. I think that this movie will attract some viewers in the coming months and years. It’s an example of the idiotic humor that became so controversial during the 90s. This isn’t a movie that I would want to see with my mother sitting near me. I could hardly stand seeing “Three Men and a Baby” with her. I went over to the grocery store and returned home in the rain. I just wanted to stay indoors for the rest of the day. The Star Trek episode was “The Devil in the Dark,” about a crisis in a mining colony. I saw the Tonight Show from August 1, 1973, which had Ricardo Montalban and Uri Geller. Uri Geller showed himself to be a fraud. He wasn’t able to do anything when he wasn’t able to use his own props. Some of the people who died on March 13 include Benjamin Harrison (1901), Susan B. Anthony (1906), Clarence Darrow (1938), Garson Kanin (1999), and Maureen Stapleton (2006). Today is a birthday for Adam Clayton (56), Charo (75), and Neil Sedaka (77).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

