10 Cloverfield Lane

I woke up too early because of Daylight Saving Time. I was surprised that my parents phoned me so early. The segments on the CBS Sunday Morning show were about guns. I didn’t want to go out into the rain until I had to, so I skipped my trip to the grocery store. I took the bus towards Jack London Square, and I stopped at my ATM. I walked over to the theatre and got in line. The woman in front of me asked me if she could sit underneath the awning until the box office opened. She offered to pay for my ticket, but I refused. It was only a few minutes, and I am a rich person. I was there to see “10 Cloverfield Lane,” which has been getting positive reviews. The movie reminded me of “Misery,” the Twilight Zone episodes “The Shelter” and “One More Pallbearer,” and “The War of the Worlds.” I thought that John Goodman gave one of his best performances as Howard, a survivalist who is too mysterious to trust. I’d always thought of him before as the guy in “The Big Lebowski.” In this one, it sounds like he’s making sense, but then there is this craziness about him that makes you not want to believe him. It seems that he had questionable tastes in music if he had “I Think We’re Alone Now” and “Venus” in his jukebox. I don’t know how he could expect to live out a year or two in that shelter with two other people. He should have spent more money on the toilet and shower. One of those Twilight Zone episodes had Joseph Wiseman in it, and Michelle has some Dr. No moments in the air vent. Because this was a Cloverfield sequel of sorts, I knew that Michelle was wrong. The whole shelter idea made me think of “Dr. Strangelove” and the plans to survive the holocaust. If I stocked that shelter with my videos and CDs, it would be more than enough for two years, but I would need more books. I don’t own a copy of “Pretty in Pink.” I wondered what would happen to the Internet. I don’t think that I could stand playing The Game of Life many times. I don’t think that I would enjoy Monopoly. Mary Elizabeth Winstead reminded me of Meg Tilly. The character of Emmett made me think that he could have come out of the Breaking Bad television series. Howard made mistakes in dealing with the others, and he definitely should have dealt with Emmett differently. Howard did seem like he was the male counterpart to Kathy Bates’ character in “Misery.” The movie is very intriguing because of the questions about what really went on, and whether Howard is crazy. It is a bit claustrophobic, though, because so much of it takes place in that confined space. It seemed like almost a fun hangout for a while. With the end of the world, you don’t have to go to work or deal with a lot of people you can’t stand. The drawback is that you don’t see the sunlight. I kept thinking that these three people needed some exercise. I kept thinking about the television set. I thought it would have been connected to a cable so that Howard could watch some news. It’s odd that they didn’t make more of an effort to keep themselves informed. Otherwise, how would they know when to leave the shelter. This movie leaves you with a lot to think about. It took me back in ways to “The Omega Man.” I guess there is only one way for this story to end, and that is with contact with the outside world. If nothing else, you have to set up another Cloverfield sequel. Of course, I’m assuming there will be another one. Is the sequel going to take place in Houston? I was glad that this one didn’t have that found footage approach, which made me feel dizzy and nauseous with the constant movement of the camera. I found it hard to believe that Michelle could do some of the things she did at the end. All in all, though, this movie exceeded my expectations. I think it’s going to be looked upon as a sort of classic in the years to come. I felt satisfied with this afternoon at the movies, and I felt glad that I didn’t go to see “The Witch.” It was still raining steadily as I walked out to the bus stop. I rode all the way over to the record store near my apartment. I discovered that their basement had flooded, so I could go there to browse the vinyl albums. I looked over the Blu-ray discs and decided on the Criterion Collection edition of “La Dolce Vita.” I thought about pizza but went with the food I had left in the refrigerator. I took a nap before I listened to Robert Hilburn’s Rock ‘n’ Roll Times program. He played songs by Dave Alvin and Peter Case, including “Fourth of July,” “Border Radio,” “Travelin’ Light,” and “Two Angels.” I think I gained more appreciation of a couple of the Peter Case songs. The Tonight Show rerun on Antenna TV was from May 10, 1979, and two of the guests were David Steinberg and Jill Ireland. Steinberg is now 73 years old. Jill Ireland would die of breast cancer in May 1990. She was only 54. She was married to David McCallum before she was married to Charles Bronson. I watched a bit of news about rats invading houses in places like Lafayette. I thought it was an exhausting first day of Daylight Saving Time, both with the time change and the constant rain. I thought about the record store and whether they would clean it up quickly. I wondered if my apartment building is in good shape. The KRON news anchor kept stumbling with his delivery like a Ted Baxter. It seemed that they were putting old news on the screen, namely the weekend box office figures, which didn’t mention “10 Cloverfield Lane.” The Columbo episode on Me TV was “Prescription: Murder.” Columbo had a different personality back in 1968. I listened to the CD of Junior Walker that I bought a while back. Two songs on it were “Come See About Me” and “These Eyes.” I really enjoyed some of those Motown Ultimate Collection compilation discs from the 90s. Junior Walker died in 1995. KQED repeated the special on Karen Carpenter. I’ve seen it too many times. Some of the people who died on March 14 include Susan Hayward (1975), Busby Berkeley (1976), Fred Zinnemann (1997), and Peter Graves (2010). Today is a birthday for Stephen Curry (28), Billy Crystal (68), Michael Caine (83), and Quincy Jones (83).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

