The Exorcist

I was upset that some of the rain from Sunday night invaded my apartment and damaged some album covers. I had to go on to work, however. I was upset and forgot my employee badge. After the shift was over, I headed home to use some rags to soak up the water on my carpet. I also did my laundry. I returned home to see “The Exorcist” again, but this time on Blu-ray. I thought the print looked very good. It was like I was watching it back in 1973. Some of the casting possibilities were interesting, like Sharon Stone, Laura Dern, Jamie Lee Curtis, and Melanie Griffith as Regan. Raquel Welch or Audrey Hepburn could have been the mother, and Debbie Reynolds and Carrie Fisher could have been both mother and daughter. Ellen Burstyn was excellent, though, as the mother. I thought that two of her very good scenes are with Regan when she urinates, and also the scene with the team of psychiatrists. I noticed that the house was at the corner of Prospect and 36th. It’s so funny that the early scenes have Regan as a sweet young daughter, playing table tennis and being playful with her mother. It’s all the more shocking, then, when she reaches the depths. The doctor was a fool for continuing to talk about the frontal lobe. I thought that the Catholic Church actually comes across quite well in this movie. They sacrifice in order that this young woman can go out there and continue with life. The priests get vomited on, but they still work to help this person. I had forgotten that Lee J. Cobb was in this movie. I remember him for ““On the Waterfront” and “12 Angry Men.” This was one of his last films. He would die of a heart attack in 1976. Jack Nicholson could have played the younger priest, although he didn’t seem like the type we would accept as a Catholic priest, especially after “Five Easy Pieces.” I couldn’t tell the difference between the director’s cut and the original cut, except for the spider walk shot. Some things like the shot of Regan’s head turning around don’t seem so convincing now. Ellen Burstyn apparently suffered a spine injury during the filming of one scene. The result is almost worth it, but I thought about the safety standards of a movie set back in 1973. The most memorable and haunting shot, of course, is Max von Sydow’s arrival at the house. I noticed that he got right down to business, which was good for the pace of the movie. He was younger than his character was supposed to be, where Linda Blair was older than her character was supposed to be. For the purposes of drama, it was the right decision to change the character from a young boy to a young girl. One other shot that I liked showed, I think, a track in the background. There was a sense that the characters were elevated from the rest of the world. I wondered how long it took for them to pack up all their stuff in the house at the end. Do actresses like her always get such accommodations when they’re living in another city during filming? The scene of the angiography was hard to watch, with the blood spurting. I can’t blame viewers for fainting during the scene. So many movies have been made with themes similar to “The Exorcist,” but none of them has been as good. You have to give credit to William Friedkin and his commitment to telling a story. I could have imagined Stanley Kubrick directing it, although he would have taken forever to finish it and probably driven the actors crazy. The quality of the Blu-ray disc was very good. This movie took me back to 1973 and better times. Unfortunately, I did see the sequel with Richard Burton, maybe not quite the worst movie I’ve ever seen, but still terrible. I had sad thoughts about my apartment and the end of one of my classes, and I cleaned up my floor a little bit before I watched “Supergirl.” She was exposed to red kryptonite, which affected her brain. Some of the people who died on March 15 include Julius Caesar (44 BC), Lester Young (1959), Tom Harmon (1990), Benjamin Spock (1998), Ann Sothern (2001), Stuart Rosenberg (2007), and Ron Silver (2009). Today is a birthday for Fabio (57), Dee Snider (61), and Mike Love (75).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

