Knight of Cups

I went out to do my laundry, and I took a walk downtown. I ran into one of my co-workers at the comic book store. I bought a Turkish chicken burrito for lunch before walking over to the theatre for “Knight of Cups,” the new Terrence Malick film. It didn’t attract too many customers, but one of employees praised, saying that every shot in it was beautiful. I noticed the roads and the water. It felt like Christian Bale could have been pulled from the set of “The Tree of Life” onto this movie. I thought his scenes with Natalie Portman were painful. I wanted to tell him to keep his hands off her. When I saw him jump into the water, I imagined Richard Gere falling into the water at the end of “Days of Heaven.” I thought it was unusual to see a movie star swimming. I got tired of watching Christian Bale throughout this movie, especially with all those shots of him up close. Natalie Portman looked like a different woman, unlike the one I remember from the Star Wars movies. Whenever I saw Cate Blanchett, I wanted to see her do something to save the movie. Brian Dennehy was in this movie. I had been wondered what happened to him. I didn’t even know that he was still alive. The three other notables in the movie were Antonio Banderas, Ryan O’Neal, and Ben Kingsley. Since there was no script and everything was improvised, there was a messy quality to the scenes, and for a lot of people, it was too much. The film is mostly exhausting and annoying to watch. It seems that this isn’t a way to make good movie. Maybe Malick is getting too old to direct movies anymore. He should have done more during those years between “Days of Heaven” and “The Thin Red Line.” “Knight of Cups” refers to a character on a tarot card. It’s a movie that takes the approach of “The Tree of Life” to an extreme. It certainly isn’t a Hollywood movie. Malick would do better with less experimentation and more of a desire to say something meaningful to his audience. I would recommend that only big Terrence Malick fans should go out and see this movie. Others should go back to “Badlands” and “Days of Heaven.” I was very tired after seeing the movie, but I went browsing through the record stores and bought the Beatles’ Mono Masters two-CD set. I watched Louis Gossett, Jr. on the Tonight Show from March 18, 1983. It seemed that a lot happened this week, with the start of Daylight Saving Time, Pi Day, Super Tuesday 3 and the Ides of March, St. Patrick’s Day, and the beginning of spring break. We also heard about the deaths of Frank Sinatra, Jr. and Joe Santos. Jerry Lewis turned 90. Some of the people who died on March 19 include Edgar Rice Burroughs (1950), Edward Platt (1974), Arthur C. Clarke (2008), and Paul Scofield (2008). Today is a birthday for Bruce Willis (61), Glenn Close (69), and Ursula Andress (80). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for March 19, the first televised Academy Awards ceremony took place in 1953, with Gary Cooper, Shirley Booth, Gloria Grahame, and Anthony Quinn winning the acting awards, and “The Greatest Show on Earth” named Best Picture. In 1957, Elvis Presley agreed to purchase Graceland with a $1000 cash deposit against a sale price of $102,500. In 1974, Jefferson Airplane began their first concert tour under the name Jefferson Starship. In 1982, Randy Rhoads died in a plane crash during an attempt to buzz Ozzy Osbourne’s tour bus.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

