The Witch

I awoke and watched CBS Sunday Morning.  One thing I noticed was that Mo Rocca wasn’t too good with either his math or his sense of time.  He said that 1981 was twenty-five years ago.  I got a phone call from my parents, who told me that some money was coming my way.  I used the Internet to add some money to my cell phone account and to buy a Criterion Collection Blu-ray disc of “The Graduate.”  I also bought a package of A’s promotion items for the year.  I won’t have to stand in an insane line for a gnome.  I went out to Dollar Tree to buy some garbage bags.  I went back out to watch an early showing of “The Witch.”  It was about a family in 1630, cast out of their community and having to deal with hardships with their farm.  The newborn baby is stolen from under the nose of the oldest daughter Thomasin.  The family deteriorates as the son Caleb becomes ill, and the twins Mercy and Jonas are weird and frightening, claiming that the family’s goat Black Phillip speaks to them.  I felt that it was unnecessary for me to watch all of this because I’d already seen movies like “Rosemary’s Baby” and “The Exorcist” in the past.  The movie wore me down with its death and doom.  It seemed that it wasn’t right to make us sit through all of this for its conclusion.  The atmosphere is a lot of the movie, with its isolation and its tall trees.  I think I would go crazy being stuck with the same people, rather like Jack Nicholson in “The Shining.”  The movie was more like a good vs. evil conflict in the vein of “The Exorcist” than many a teenager horror film.  Quite a few people were bored and displeased with this movie.  I wouldn’t say that I was bored, but I wished it had gone in another direction.  I think that a lot of audiences aren’t used to long silences and a focus on a few characters, although come to think of it, people did like “The Revenant.”  The girl who played Thomasin, Anya Taylor-Joy, seemed promising as a future movie star.  I kept wanting to tell her to get the hair out of her face.  One irritating thing about the dialogue was hearing the old English, with everyone using “thee.”  I had the feeling all along that the Christians would have no chance against evil under these conditions.  The father was leading the family to disaster, reminding me of Harrison Ford in “The Mosquito Coast.”  The mother was coming apart after the disappearance of the baby.  In this instance, the woman wasn’t the strong one.  The deaths were too relentless.  We needed a breather.  At least I did.  I really didn’t want to see the witch.  What do witches do with all that time on their hands?  William’s last encounter with Black Phillip was strange.  I thought of Williams as a quitter.  I thought that the idea of a weapon being with Thomasin’s reach at the end was hard to believe.  Her stained clothes made me think of the problems of cleaning clothes in such isolation.  I found it tiring to sit through this movie.  I didn’t understand how anyone to put so much effort into filming this story.  They filmed the movie somewhere in Ontario, Canada.  There is a point where unsettling becomes uncomfortable to the point of being nearly unwatchable.  Stephen King was impressed with the movie, saying that it was tense and thought-provoking.  The real thought it provoked in me was when it was going to end.  I generally don’t like horror films in the first place.  I thought this one was torturing me for no real reason.  The animals were disturbing.  They were the goat, a hare, and a raven.  The goat was rather scary.  I wondered about the twins and Thomasin at the end.  I really hoped that there would not be a sequel to this movie.  This movie seems to have a following among some movie fans.  I think I’d rather see it again over something like “The Blair Witch Project.”  When you’ve seen so many movies over the years, almost nothing seems fresh and exciting.  Some critics think that Robert Eggers has great potential.  I didn’t see that.  Of course, Francis Ford Coppola did do “Dementia 13” early on in his career.  Someone at work wanted me to see “The Witch” so that we could discuss one of the characters.  I didn’t want to rehearse any of my possible comments, but I thought of a few zingers.  I took a slow walk home after the movie ended at about 1:30. I didn’t stop for pizza, and I returned home to listen to a spring training game between the A’s and the White Sox on the radio.  Some rain came down.  I thought it was good to hear the radio announcing team again, although I’m not making it out there to Arizona for any of those games.  They reminded us that Opening Night will be two weeks from today.  The final score of this game was 6-2.  Because of the running festival, I missed seeing either “Deadpool” or “Miracles from Heaven” at Jack London Square.  I don’t think I really wanted to see “Miracles from Heaven,” anyway.  The box office numbers for the weekend indicated that “Zootopia” was a real winner, and the Divergent series was losing steam.  I watched the Star Trek animated episode “The Time Trap.”  The Klingons were very treacherous.  I watched the All in the Family episode “The Election Story.”  Apparently, Archie hadn’t voted since the 1960 election.  I wished that Lionel could have done more than his usual exchange with Archie.  The Mary Tyler Moore Show episode I saw was “We Closed in Minneapolis.”  Murray wrote a play that received a negative review from the local theatre critic.  His wife Marie was pregnant.  The Robert Hilburn Rock ‘n’ Roll Times program on KCSN started with “The Unheard Music” by X.  They didn’t edit out a bad word from “Los Angeles.”  The show also featured Los Lobos.  “One Time, One Night” is a very good song.  The Columbo episode on Me TV was “Ransom for a Dead Man.”  The guests on the Tonight Show rerun from March 25, 1977 were Mitzi Gaynor, Orson Bean, and Carl Sagan.  Some of the people who died on March 21 include Pocahontas (1617), Cole Younger (1916), Robert Preston (1987), and Chinua Achebe (2013).  Today is a birthday for Matthew Broderick (54), Rosie O’Donnell (54), Gary Oldman (58), and Timothy Dalton (72).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for March 21, the first episode of the serial “Flash Gordon’s Trip to Mars” was released in 1938.  In 1973, the film adaptation of “Godspell,” starring Victor Garber as Jesus, was released.  In 1980, CBS aired the famous cliffhanger episode of “Dallas” in which J.R. was shot.  In 1994, “Schindler’s List” won the Best Picture Oscar.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

