Hello, My Name is Doris

I watched CBS This Morning and saw their chef segment.  Brooke Williamson’s signature recipes included Braised short rib with carrot faro and grilled spring onions, Oysters with watermelon ponzu, Blistered green beans, Fried cauliflower with romesco sauce, Spicy warm chocolate custard with marinated blackberries, and Spicy Mezcal cocktail.  I saw a lot of the Rolling Stones in Cuba on the news.  They were playing “Jumpin’ Jack Flash.”  If the Cuban music fans wanted Lady Gaga and Bruno Mars to visit them next, I have questions about their taste in music.  I don’t think they waited decades for the likes of Bruno Mars.  I looked up the American Top 40 playlist for the weekend.  The Top 10 songs on March 23, 1974 were “Jungle Boogie,” “Eres Tu,” “Jet,” “Hooked on a Feeling,” “Bennie and the Jets,” “Mockingbird,” “Boogie Down,” “Sunshine on My Shoulders,” “Seasons in the Sun,” and “Dark Lady.”  I went grocery shopping, and then I went out to see “Hello, My Name is Doris.”  It was a low-budget movie starring Sally Field as a woman whose mother has just died, and who becomes interested in a younger man at her workplace.  She lives on Staten Island and takes the ferry to get to work.  The other names in the cast that I recognized were Tyne Daly, Peter Gallagher, and Beth Behrs.  Doris has difficulty with what you would call hoarding, placing sentimental value in objects because she’s lacking people in her life.  Still, I couldn’t quite understand her attachment to a lamp or a single ski.  Tyne Daly plays her longtime friend Roz.  I didn’t know why Doris would have such a strong interest in this particular young man, named John Fremont, except that she noticed him after her mother’s death and was latching onto someone.  I thought that all of this was not exactly the freshest material for a movie, but we’re watching it for Sally Field and her character.  One of the funniest scene was her dance to the music of Baby Goya and the Nuclear Winds.  A 69-year-old woman can still take pleasure in some of the things the younger generation enjoys.  As I watched Doris, I kept trying to think of the woman she reminded me of.  One name I came up with was Dianne Wiest.  I think I liked seeing Sally Field in this movie more than in “Lincoln.”  I think I would have preferred no mention of Facebook, but I guess it’s inescapable in this stupid world.  I tried to imagine Sally Field as a woman who stayed at the same job for thirty or forty years, and who never got married.  I guess it’s possible if Linda Ronstadt never got married.  Doris is given to daydreaming, reminding me of Walter Mitty.  I was somewhat surprised to see that she wasn’t fired for inefficiency.  I was attracted to this movie because of its trailer.  I think I can relate to Doris’ character because I’m growing older and seeing the millennial generation come into my workplace, making me gradually feel that it will be time for me to go soon.  I thought about what Doris would do after her working days ended.  Life has to be expensive in New York.  This story took some turns that I knew were going to happen long before they happened.  However, it heads toward a Harold and Maude direction that it impossible.  The ending is open-ended because it would be terrible to close the door on this woman.  I wondered what the budget of this movie was, because it seemed like it would cost less than what Sally Field’s pay for many of her movies.  This movie made me think of “Punchline” with Tom Hanks from years ago.  I have the feeling that word of mouth will be positive for “Hello, My Name is Doris” among the sixty-plus crowd.  I wouldn’t describe it as a perfect movie, but it has its moments of emotion that we can relate to, and it’s an alternative to all the youth-oriented movies that are out there.  There is a beautiful quality to it, coming from Sally Field and Tyne Daly.  I predict it will have a big following before all is said and done.  It looked like most of the people in the audience were older than I was, and most of them seemed to like the movie.  I wouldn’t count on a sequel, though.  One interesting fact about the cast was that it included Nnamdi Asomugha, who was one of the all-time great Oakland Raider defensive players.  He is not quite 35 years old, and his NFL career is over.  It was 3:24 when I left the theatre.  The starting time for the movie was 1:45.  I listened to the radio for the end of the A’s game against the Royals.  The A’s scored two runs in the ninth inning to avoid the shutout, as they lost, 5-2.  On the postgame show, I heard critical comments on the A’s starting pitching, which at this point doesn’t look good outside of Sonny Gray.  This season doesn’t look too promising.  I headed back home, as I really needed to take a nap.  I turned on the television to see Oregon losing their basketball game.  They had a moment when they were within 12 points, but then they committed a turnover.  The Tonight Show rerun from March 30, 1973 had Buddy Hackett and McLean Stevenson.  ABC was showing “The Ten Commandments” again, while KQED had Sally Field in “Steel Magnolias.”  I will say that “The Ten Commandments” looked sharp and bright and clear in high definition, which is not my memory of it from a long time ago.  Charlton Heston and Yul Brynner were great movie stars in those days.  Brynner stood akimbo a lot, so that he seemed that his fists were permanently glued to his waist.  I didn’t want to think about Charlton Heston growing old and yelling out his gun rights.  Me TV aired “The Incredible Hulk,” but I couldn’t bring myself to watch it.  I associate Lou Ferrigno with “I Love You, Man” now.  I could watch only a few minutes of Wonder Woman.  I saw an alien hold a hand grenade as it exploded, and it didn’t harm him.  On the day after Elton John’s birthday, I thought about my favorite songs of his, including “Your Song,” “Tiny Dancer,” “Daniel,” and “Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me.”  One of the songs that I wanted to hear again was “Blues for My Baby and Me.”  Some of the people who died on March 27 include M.C. Escher (1972), Ian Dury (2000), Milton Berle (2002), Dudley Moore (2002), Billy Wilder (2002), Paul Zindel (2003), and Farley Granger (2011).  Today is a birthday for Quentin Tarantino (53) and Gay Blackstone (64).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

