The Matrix

I got to the record store twenty minutes before closing time, and I chose to buy the remastered edition of Paul McCartney’s “Ram” album.  I went out to buy a beef burrito before walking to the theatre for the Flashback Feature of the week, “The Matrix.”  I think I preferred the idea of seeing movies that are more than 17 years old for a night of nostalgia.  After seeing “John Wick,” though, it feels like this movie came out a long time ago.  I thought that Keanu Reeves’ most effective line of dialogue was the single word “Whoa.”  I guess people out there have already compiled his whoas, and I’d like to see the video of it.  I can’t imagine Keanu Reeves as a whoa be gone kind of guy.  I couldn’t help thinking that the red pill and the blue pill both looked like cold medicine.  I wondered what was in the cookie that the Oracle gives to Neo.  It was supposed to make him feel as right as rain.  The actors went through a lot of martial arts training in preparing for this movie, and I was impressed with what Laurence Fishburne did.  I always wondered about the agents and why they talked the way they do.  I came to think of them as being something like The Blue Brothers in this world.  I would like to hear the soundtrack of the movie once again to pick up on things that I liked, like Rage Against the Machine.  I think that the audience last night picked up on more humor than when I saw this movie years ago.  We would see two characters look at each other without saying anything, and that would make the audience laugh.  I also wondered how much ammunition was used in the movie.  It seemed like it was enough for a world war.  I would see members of the cast elsewhere, like Joe Pantoliano in “The Sopranos” and Hugo Weaving in The Lord of the Rings.  I can’t think of Carrie-Anne Moss as anything but Trinity.  I thought about how Neo avoiding killing Morpheus when he was shooting into the building.  I thought about how uncomfortable it was to have that hole in the back of your neck.  I think I’ve seen the movie too many times, and it’s lost some of its impact on me.  Also, my memory has been polluted by the sequels.  Neo was too powerful.  He needed to struggle for us to identify with him.  When he’s running around to get to a phone, we can root for him.  The images of the phones reminded me of the age of this movie.  I can’t see Will Smith or Brad Pitt as Neo.  Nicolas Cage could have been strange.  I wonder what Val Kilmer looked like back then.  I could see Sean Connery as Morpheus, although I don’t know how he could have handled the physical part of the role.  I wasn’t real pleased with the ending with Neo’s revival.  One thing I could standing seeing was the touching of the sweat on Morpheus’ face.  Other than the reference to Alice in Wonderland, I didn’t want to think of any of the other references in this film.  The story made me wish that there was something else necessary to save the world.  Fiona Johnson was the Woman in Red.  She also appeared in Episode 2 of Star Wars.  The young audience liked the movie, although I was a bit less excited with it.  I went home and caught Siskel and Ebert on the Tonight Show rerun from January 16, 1992.  Roger looked very heavy, and Gene kept talking about “Rambling Rose” and “Grand Canyon.”  Roger was impressed with Wesley Snipes in “New Jack City.”  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment, the Supremes recorded “Where Did Our Love Go” in 1964.  In 1975, the Aerosmith album “Toys in the Attic,” featuring the songs “Sweet Emotion” and “Walk This Way,” was released.  In 1979, the last episode of “All in the Family” aired on CBS.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

