Everybody Wants Some!!

I was tired after seeing “The Matrix.”  I watched the morning news on KPIX, and Frank Mallicoat announced that it was his last day on the job there.  I took my time listening to some music before I headed out to the office.  My focus was to finish my income tax forms and get them ready to send.  I got it done by three o’clock, and I felt some relief.  I had a turkey burger for a late lunch, and then I returned to the apartment to arrange the papers and put them into envelopes.  I made a rare trip to the post office and got 71 cents in postage for each of the envelopes and sent them off.  I walked over to the theatre to see “Everybody Wants Some!!”  The title comes from a Van Halen song.  It had a baseball player arriving at a Texas college and experiencing his last few days before the start of the school term.  My guess is that it was the fall semester of 1980, since the main character, Jake, had the Talking Heads album “Remain in Light” in his collection.  The baseball players sure drank a lot of beer and smoked a lot of weed.  This film was described as a sequel to “Boyhood” or “Dazed and Confused.”  I thought the time period made it not a real sequel to “Boyhood.”  I thought of the movie as “American Graffiti” applied to the next generation.  As I remembered it, there was a mention of “Gilligan’s Island” in “Dazed and Confused.”  We get another reference in this movie, although I could barely recognize it.  They also talked about the Twilight Zone episode “Eye of the Beholder.”  I thought that Jake was reminiscent of a young Matt Dillon, and if this movie had been made in 1980, he would have been in it.  The cerebral baseball player reminded me of a couple of people, but I couldn’t place the names.  The best I could come up with was William Hurt.  I wonder why these macho athletes are so obsessed with homosexuality.  A funny thing is that all of the players should know the words to “Rapper’s Delight” as if it was some sort of requirement.  I would say that a flaw in the screenplay was that it crammed all the musical touchstones of the time into the film, namely disco, rap, urban country, and punk.  It actually felt like disco had gone from great popularity with Donna Summer the year before to nothing in 1980.  I remember that urban cowboy nonsense with those mediocre songs.  I wouldn’t have thought that baseball players would go to a punk concert, but this group would go anywhere.  I noticed that the girl Jake meets has the Patti Smith album “Easter.”  I found it hard to imagine a relationship with a girl involved in theatre arts lasting very long at all.  I guess a little bit of the movie reminded me of “Breaking Away,” with the characters going out swimming.  A woman sitting at the end of my row to my left laughed too loudly at everything and was a real distraction.  Come on, it wasn’t all that funny.  I wasn’t too sure that I could see these guys as actual college athletes, even though one of them is the brother of Huston Street.  They didn’t seem too much like sports fans.  They did talk about how they were good players back home but would probably not amount to anything at the college level.  Linklater did insert the Houston Astros into “Boyhood.”  He also played baseball for Sam Houston State University.  The party with the performance arts students showed to me that most of them weren’t going anywhere, either.  The last shot of the movie shows what a college education is like for too many students.  No wonder there is a student loan crisis.  This movie wasn’t as likable as “Dazed and Confused,” and it wasn’t the impressive achievement that “Boyhood” was.  Sometimes it felt like the characters were talking too much, as in “Before Sunrise,” “Before Sunset,” and “Before Midnight.”  I think that some of the cast members are going on to greater fame in the coming years.  Is Linklater going to make another of these autobiographical films?  He could make a film about working on an offshore oil rig, almost like a “Five Easy Pieces.”  He could make a film about enrolling in college to study film, which I think would not be such an interesting film.  I wasn’t shocked to read that he dropped out of Sam Houston State.  Linklater was influenced by Martin Scorsese’s “Raging Bull.”  That was a movie that he could have seen in 1980.  I don’t think anyone talked about Ronald Reagan and Jimmy Carter in “Everybody Wants Some!!”  It’s like Texas isn’t even part of the country.  I had seen people who had seen “April and the Extraordinary World” leaving the theatre, and so I wondered if it was a good movie.  Perhaps after work today, I’ll go to see it.  It was raining, and I hated the weather.  I went home and watched the Partridge Family episode “A Man Called Snake.”  Rob Reiner was Snake, and I thought it was a shame that they didn’t show him dumping the punch bowl onto someone’s head or fighting people at the dance.  It seemed that Laurie never did autograph Snake’s chest.  The episode of NUMB3RS that I watched was called “Disturbed.”  Charlie submerged himself into his work to deal with the near-death of his brother.  Larry said he had a Green Lantern book.  I saw two episodes of Match Game at ten o’clock.  David Doyle, Didi Carr, and Fannie Flagg were three of the celebrities.  I filled out a form for a ticket for the Ukulele Festival of Northern California.  It will be later than usual this year, on April 24.  Tickets are $22.50 if the form is postmarked by April 15.  If I had the money, I would buy a new ukulele.  Christopher Reeve was on the Tonight Show rerun from November 2, 1988.  He was still young and healthy and could walk back then.  He was promoting “The Great Escape II: The Untold Story.”  The video clip had Reeve and Judd Hirsch.  Melanie Mayron was the last guest.  She said that her early dream was to be a stand-up comedian.  One of the movies on Channel 2.3 was “The Italian Job.”  I don’t remember what the movie with Michael Caine was like, but I rather liked the one with Charlize Theron.  Some of the people who died on April 9 include Frank Lloyd Wright (1959), Phil Ochs (1976), Willie Stargell (2001), Little Eva (2003), and Sidney Lumet (2011).  Today is a birthday for Dennis Quaid (62), Michael Learned (77), and Hugh Hefner (90).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for April 9, “West Side Story” won the Academy Award for Best Picture in 1962.  In 1976, Phil Ochs committed suicide at age 35 by hanging himself in his sister’s home in Far Rockaway, New York.  In 1984, the Best Picture Oscar winner was “Terms of Endearment.”  In 1988, Brook Benton died of pneumonia at age 56.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

