Avril et le monde truqué

I woke up later than usual, and saw only the end of the chef segment of CBS This Morning.  Melissa Cookston’s signature dishes were: Rotisserie southwest spiced flank steak with chimchurri and grilled lime-cilantro slaw, grilled fruit salad, bacon-wrapped asparagus with pink peppercorn vinaigrette, mini sage biscuits with sage butter, coconut and spiked sweet tea lemonade.  Before I left for work, I looked up the American Top 40 playlist for the weekend.  The Top 10 songs on April 14, 1973 were “Call Me (Come Back Home),” “Killing Me Softly with His Song,” “Break Up to Make Up,” “Danny’s Song,” “The Cisco Kid,” “Sing,” “Ain’t No Woman (Like the One I Got),” “Tie a Yellow Ribbon Round the Ole Oak Tree,” “Neither One of Us (Wants to Be the First to Say Goodbye),” and “The Night the Lights Went Out in Georgia.”  After I was done with my work, I took the bus downtown and bought a ticket for “April and the Extraordinary World.”  While I was waiting, I bought a BBQ chicken sandwich from the deli, but it wasn’t too satisfying.  I didn’t have the time to get an ice cream cone before returning to the theatre.  The movie had a lot of imagination and was fun to watch, containing adventure elements that were like Tintin, and a house with legs like something from Hayao Miyazaki.  One problem with it was that it was in French, which I didn’t mind so much, but the kid sitting behind me kept asking his father what everyone was saying.  Kids should learn how to read at a young age.  There were talking animals, like a talking cat, and talking lizards that I thought were from Star Trek.  It seems that I’ve been seeing a lot of the Eiffel Tower in the movies during the past couple of years.  I liked the animation, except for the way that April looked.  She had to have short hair for some reason, like Audrey Hepburn in “Roman Holiday.”  We see the conventions of a romantic comedy, which I could have done without, especially at the very end.  You don’t expect fun films to come out of France, or at least I don’t.  I can’t remember too many amusing French films since “Diva” years ago.  I’m not too sure that I can accept the notion of an Ultimate Serum, even in this world of fantasy and science fiction.  The grandfather had the nickname Pops, which I always associate with Speed Racer.  It feels like Marion Cotillard has been everywhere since she won her Oscar, and here she is as the voice of April.  I have actually come to like her.  It’s the child coming to the rescue the parents in this movie.  I thought there was quite of James Bond and “Moonraker” in the last part of the movie.  The confrontation part reminded me of movies like “Monsters vs. Aliens” and “The Incredibles.”  There were a lot of humorous touches that kept the audience laughing.  It’s a movie that a lot of kids would like if they get to see a dubbed version of it.  I recall that when “The Wind Rises” was released, I saw it in both Japanese and English dubbed versions.  The children at this screening got something of a rude surprise when they saw that they would have to do a lot of reading.  I think, though, that it’s a movie that is worth seeing more than once.  It does have that graphic novel feeling, both in the story and the look of it, and young people are reading a lot of graphic novels.  The movie made me want to take a closer look at the work of Jacques Tardi.  He was born in 1946, and so he will turn 70 later this year.  I thought that this was a much more enjoyable animated film than “Only Yesterday.”  I walked home in the rain and felt that I wanted to sleep through the rest of the day.  I was concerned about my student loan payments.  I’m down to the last three, which is rather hard to believe.  I saw that “Sleepless in Seattle” was going to air on KQED.  It seems like a long time ago since Meg Ryan was America’s sweetheart.  Another movie channel was showing “Holiday.”  Katharine Hepburn was in it.  I wasn’t interested in watching the Cleveland Cavaliers and the Chicago Bulls. I tried to find a theatre that was showing “Knight of Cups,” but it seems that if I want to see it again, it will be on video.  I looked for news about the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.  I would not have voted for Deep Purple or Steve Miller.  Deep Purple gave us only “Smoke on the Water,” which everybody knows how to play on the guitar, but they didn’t give us anything else.  Chicago had some good tunes up through “Old Days,” but I wouldn’t have voted for them.  You have to subtract points for songs like “No Tell Lover.”  Cheap Trick is closer to being Hall of Fame level, although I look at their creative life as lasting only from 1977 to 1979.  I would have voted only for N.W.A., based on their talent level with Ice Cube and Dr. Dre.  The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has far too many people who shouldn’t be in there.  You shouldn’t let anyone who’s had a few hits into the place.  Steve Miller certainly wasn’t very consistent.  He could play that guitar.  I wouldn’t want people to know that I had hit record with songs like “Jungle Love.”  “The Joker” has something of a cool factor, although he has to make a reference to smoking weed.  No wonder there is a lackluster quality to his creative efforts.  Is “Fly Like an Eagle” a good album?  It sold a lot of copies, but I wouldn’t want to listen to it on a desert island.  I saw that the Beatles’ Anthology albums were now available on Spotify.  The Tonight Show rerun from May 20, 1977 featured Muhammad Ali, Peter Falk, Steve Landesberg, and Carl Sagan.  One of the characters in “Everybody Wants Some!!” talked a lot about Carl Sagan.  I read a little bit about the Oakland Tribune, which folded into the East Bay Times on Tuesday.  It actually seemed that the paper was dead years ago.  It feels sad, because we used to talk about Dave Newhouse’s column during the 1980s.  I don’t know if there are any good writers out there anymore.  I checked my mailbox and saw a lot of financial statements.  I was actually encouraged with the investments.  Some of the people who died on April 10 include Auguste Lumière (1954), Michael Curtiz (1962), Stuart Sutcliffe (1962), Evelyn Waugh (1966), Marjorie Main (1975), Nino Rota (1979), Natalie Schafer (1991), and Larry Linville (2000).  Today is a birthday for Daisy Ridley (24), Steven Seagall (64), and John Madden (80).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for April 10, the Academy of Country Music named Alabama the Artist of the Decade in 1989.  In 1992, Sam Kinison died at age 38 as he was driving to Laughlin, Nevada after his car was struck by a pickup truck.  In 1994, Charles Osgood succeeded Charles Kuralt as host of the CBS Sunday Morning show.  In 2001, Eminem was sentenced to two years of probation for carrying a concealed weapon after he struck a man kissing his wife.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

