Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels

I wasted quite a bit of time in the post office waiting to buy postage stamps.  Only one person was working the counter, and he took nearly 15 minutes on the two people who were ahead of me.  I was doing this so that I could mail a check for the ukulele festival.  The protesters were gone from the post office, cast out by the authorities.  What they should have been protesting was the lackluster service we’re getting from the postal service.  I had a lot of time to prepare for my class, and I thought I did a good job of lecturing.  I headed home, and then I browsed briefly through the record store before I bought the Beatles’ “Anthology 1” on vinyl.  I bought a burrito and ate it while watching television before I headed for the theatre for “Lock, Stock, and Two Smoking Barrels.”  There was a card game that I didn’t understand, and a group of Englishmen who were hard to understand.  I didn’t know what they were talking about half of the time.  I didn’t help that some incoherent woman in the theatre was rambling loudly about something.  Sting was in the movie doing a better job of acting than he did in “Dune.”  There was some marijuana, a couple of antique shotguns, and a lot of killing.  In another time, this time of ridiculousness would have come from Alec Guinness.  I would not give anybody any kind of money to play in a card game.  These guys must be the dumbest people in the world.  If they had all that money, why risk it gambling in such a questionable setting?  You don’t win money at cards.  These guys apparently never saw “The Cincinnati Kid.”  The movie brought to my mind Martin Scorsese’s “Mean Streets.”  Jason Statham was the other person I recognized in the movie.  I can’t say that this cast excited me very much.  I had forgotten that Guy Ritchie had directed movies like “RocknRolla,” “Sherlock Holmes,” and “The Man from U.N.C.L.E.”  He is capable of directing a decent film.  I thought the guys at the end behaving stupidly to the point of being unbelievable at the end with fighting over the phone.  At the end, one of the guys had a phone in his mouth.  This was in 1998.  I didn’t even like the idea of antique shotguns.  I’d like to know where Guy Ritchie gets his ideas.  Perhaps I should get the DVD and watch this movie again, free from the distracting noise of crazy people.  It was eleven o’clock when the movie ended.  I walked home and watched part of the Jimmy Kimmel show.  I hadn’t seen This Week in Unnecessary Censorship in a long time.  The Johnny Carson rerun on Antenna TV had Richard Pryor on it.  Some of the people who died on April 15 include Abraham Lincoln (1865), Wallace Beery (1949), Raymond Bailey (1980), Jean-Paul Sartre (1980), Greta Garbo (1990), and Joey Ramone (2001).  Today is a birthday for Emma Thompson (57), and Roy Clark (83).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for April 15, “Witness to Murder,” starring Barbara Stanwyck and George Sanders, was released in 1954.  In 1972, Roberta Flack’s “The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face” was the Number One single.  In 1990, “In Living Color” debuted on the Fox network.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

