Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas

I prepared for my class and heard about the death of Prince.  I was distracted with that news for a couple of hours, and then I went home for lunch.  I gave my class a review session for their exam.  I went over to the record store and bought a vinyl copy of the Beatles’ “Anthology 3.”  I saw that the Prince records were all gone.  I walked over to the theatre for the Flashback Feature of the week, “Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas.”  It wasn’t my favorite Terry Gilliam film.  The humor of the drug culture seemed not so enjoyable on the day after the marijuana smoke-out and the day we heard the news of Prince’s death.  Maybe people were paying attention to the Warriors and so not coming out to the movie.  Johnny Depp was pretty amusing, although it was too much Hunter S. Thompson for me.  I’m not sure I really wanted to see an entire movie with him in it.  One of the funny moments was seeing his beer get ruined.  I had forgotten that Christina Ricci was in the movie.  One sight that I didn’t like too much was all the dirty water.  I’ve seen Benicio del Toro in better movies.  I was impressed with the cast.  I thought it was funny that Debbie Reynolds lent her voice to a scene, and the song “Tammy” was used on the soundtrack.  Ellen Barkin was a waitress.  I had wondered what had happened to her after “Sea of Love.”  Gary Busey was a highway patrolman.  It feels like a long time since he played Buddy Holly. Tobey Maguire was a hitchhiker, and I thought he seemed really out of place.  It’s hard to imagine that a few years later he would be in the first Spider-Man movie.  Other people in the movie were Cameron Diaz, Lyle Lovett, Harry Dean Stanton, Mark Harmon, and Penn Jillette.  I liked the use of “Time is Tight” and “Jumpin’ Jack Flash” on the soundtrack.  I also liked hearing Janis Joplin and Buffalo Springfield.  I thought the movie was messy and rather tiresome.  It made me think of Dudley Moore in “Arthur” at times.  I’ve already seen it too many times.  It made me want to see “Time Bandits” again.  The audience didn’t respond to “Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas.”  A few people laughed at times, but no one applauded at the end.  I think a lot of young people didn’t get what this movie was about.  Terry Gilliam didn’t make the movie for the masses.  One thing that was strange to see was Duke driving up to the plane.  I guess the security around the runway wasn’t too strong.  I kept thinking that sirens were going to sound.  I was that it was 11:07 as I walked into the lobby and headed home.  I watched a bit of Jimmy Kimmel and kept the radio on.  Jimmy talked to a Giants fan who was ejected from a Giants game after grabbing a ball that was in play.  His girlfriend hid her face in embarrassment.  Jimmy announced that he would be sending a ball autographed by Brandon Crawford to the guy, which seemed like rewarding stupidity.  The woman should reconsider their marriage plans.  They said they paid $110 for those seats.  I heard the sports news.  The Warriors lost by one point to the Houston Rockets, and the A’s won another game against the Yankees.  The A’s winning three games in Yankee Stadium told me that the Yankees weren’t such a good team, not that the A’s were great.  I am surprised that their record is 9-7.  We’ll see how they do in Toronto.  The A’s got home runs from Mark Canha, Khris Davis, Coco Crisp, and Chris Coghlan.  I’m frightened at how well the Cubs are doing.  It could signal the end of the world.  I’m not sure that I would pass the ball to Draymond Green in the last seconds of a game.  I won’t be able to make it to Game 5.  I heard rain on the roof during the night.  I felt reluctant to go out to work.  Some of the people who died on April 22 include Miguel de Cervantes (1616), Will Geer (1978), Ansel Adams (1984), Richard M. Nixon (1994), Erma Bombeck (1996), Linda Lovelace (2002), Felice Bryant (2003), and Richie Havens (2013).  Today is a birthday for Peter Frampton (66), John Waters (70), Jack Nicholson (79), Glen Campbell (80), and Charlotte Rae (90).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for April 22, “A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court,” starring Bing Crosby and Rhonda Fleming, was released in 1949.  In 1962, “The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance,” directed by John Ford and starring James Stewart and John Wayne, was released.  In 1971, the Temptations’ album “Sky’s the Limit,” which included the hit “Just My Imagination (Running Away with Me),” was released.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

