The Huntsman: Winter’s War

I went to work in the rain.  All I could think of was my paycheck for next week.  I took the bus out to the Grand Lake Theatre so that I could see “The Huntsman: Winter’s War.”  I don’t know if kids are going to see this movie, but it seems awfully violent for a young audience.  The fusion of The Snow Queen and Snow White makes the movie feel like a spin-off of “Frozen,” with a lot of dark changes.  I would say that the chemistry between Chris Hemsworth and Jessica Chastain was terrible.  I couldn’t stand Sara’s fake accent.  I usually like watching Jessica Chastain.  During the Huntsman’s fight scene, I felt that I couldn’t see much of anything.  It was difficult to make out the action with the photography and editing.  I could not believe in Sara as some kind of super warrior.  I waited a long time to see Charlize Theron, and she was like the liquid crystal Terminator, which I really hated.  I felt like she had to wipe some trash that was stuck to her face above the eyes.  The dwarves and the mirror scene made me think that I was watching a Lord of the Rings movie.  The entire movie felt like a mixture of different elements that were thrown together and not making a combination that worked.  I don’t know why Emily Blunt was cast as Freya.  I thought she was more like a Saturday Night Live parody of a fairy tale queen than someone you could take seriously.  An old man who sat two rows in front of me seemed like a big fan of this movie and “Snow White and the Huntsman.”  I felt myself getting tired of both movies and thinking that it wasn’t worth the effort to watch them.  The presence of Nick Frost and Rob Brydon made me wonder where Simon Pegg and Steve Coogan were.  They were the comic relief in this messy movie, and they and the female dwarves were mildly amusing.  The move drags on to a conclusion that feels hardly worth watching.  I felt like I was watching the Revenge of the Sith of this series.  The movie has received quite a few negative reviews.  I wouldn’t say that the movie is that bad, but everyone might want to wait until next weekend to spend their movie money.  I was tired when I left the theatre.  I felt rather grateful that I spent only six dollars on the movie.  It was raining lightly when I got to the bus stop.  Two men were talking about the Warriors, and whether Stephen Curry should play in the next game against the Rockets.  I stopped to buy a chicken burrito on the way home.  I watched the Partridge Family episode “Anatomy of a Tonsil.”  Shirley was preparing to make either stuffed bell peppers or tuna casserole for their dinner.  At the end, Laurie said that she could go for a salami sandwich, although she never ate anything.  It was questionable whether Danny ever regained his voice after the tonsillectomy.  I watched the NUMB3RS episode “Greatest Hits.”  Henry Winkler was a guest star.  This episode aired nearly seven years ago already.  I heard on the news that the A’s won their first game in Toronto.  Now if they can only return to the Coliseum and win some games.  I watched part of the Tonight Show from February 21, 1984, with Mariette Hartley as a guest.  She talked about not being very tactful.  I could see how see could have some psychological problems.  The first Star Trek movie was on one of the movie channels, and I watched the end of it.  I liked some of the special effects, but the ending was a letdown.  There really had to be more to it than just a machine and a code.  The new uniforms didn’t look too good.  They certainly should have started with a stronger script.  The title was terrible, because we didn’t need to be reminded that it was a motion picture instead of a long television episode.  If Isaac Asimov liked the ending, he didn’t have much sense of drama.  The next movie was “Wee Willie Winkie” with Shirley Temple.  The movie was directed by John Ford.  It was originally released in 1937.  I was too tired to stay up and watch it.  Some of the people who died on April 23 include William Shakespeare (1616), Harold Arlen (1986), Otto Preminger (1986), Paulette Goddard (1990), Cesar Chavez (1993), Howard Cosell (1995), and David Halberstam (2007).  Today is a birthday for George Lopez (65), Valerie Bertinelli (56), Michael Moore (62), Joyce DeWitt (67) and Lee Majors (77).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for April 23, the Ash Grove at 8162 Melrose Avenue in West Los Angeles was destroyed by a fire in 1969.  In 1987, Carole King sued Lou Adler for breach of contract, asking for $400,000 and rights to her recordings.  In 1995, Howard Cosell died in Manhattan at age 77 of a cardiac embolism.  In 2002, Jerry Lee Lewis announced that he and his sixth wife Kerrie were divorcing after 17 years of marriage.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

