Being John Malkovich

I got up slowly and thought about my work.  I went over to the office and worked on homework assignments.  When time came for lunch, I walked home and had my salad.  I went to the classroom and delivered my lecture, and felt some relief at the conclusion of another teaching week.  I walked over to the record store and bought a CD of The Jesus and Mary Chain, along with the Criterion Collection Blu-ray edition of “Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas.”  I returned home and watched the Blu-ray edition of “Being John Malkovich.”  I would count this one as one of my favorites from the past twenty years.  It had great roles for both John Cusack and Cameron Diaz, and the idea of the portal into John Malkovich’s mind was one of the greatest in the history of cinema.  I wondered how they did some of those fantastic shots, especially the remarkable sequence of Malkovich entering his own mind.  I guess that was inevitable, given all the other people who took the tour.  I kept thinking about those people who paid the two hundred dollars, only to see Malkovich’s mind when he was asleep and not dreaming, or clipping his toenails, or taking a dump in the toilet.  Malkovich was especially funny when he was imitating Cusack.  I liked the part where Craig first goes to floor 7 ½ of that building.  I’ve always wondered about the odd and hidden places in buildings like that.  Orson Bean was so odd and interesting.  I don’t think I ever saw what made Maxine so sexy and desirable.  I couldn’t see this as a good movie with Tom Cruise in the main role.  I don’t think we really wanted to see a big superstar.  Malkovich seems like a real human being, if not quite a normal human being.  The famously hilarious moment where a guy in a truck hit Malkovich with a beer can was real, and I wondered if Malkovich was furious.  From what I read, he didn’t want to do the movie, even though it should have been evident to him that it would give him legendary status.  After seeing him in this movie, I forgot whatever else he was in.  The part where Lotte chases after Maxine inside Malkovich’s subconscious was very reminiscent of “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind.”  I thought that perhaps too much happened at the end.  Supposedly, the original ending had a plot to take over the world.  I wasn’t so enthusiastic about the idea of Emily becoming important.  Charlie Sheen’s hair looked strange at the end.  I wondered if people smelled bad after leaving Malkovich’s mind.  I shuddered to think of being in the same car as someone who had been ejected from Malkovich’s mind.  I’m still impressed with the creativity and originality of the script.  There is an exciting quality to this movie.  I wonder why we don’t get to see more movies like this instead of animated pictures and superhero epics.  It occurred to me that the guy with the beer can must have recognized Malkovich instantly to be ready to throw the can at him.  He was pretty accurate with the throw, which was pretty remarkable.  I don’t know how Craig was able to live in New York with the puppets.  I can understand his attempt to make money with the portal.  I predict that the stature of this movie will continue to grow as the years pass, and it will become huge after John Malkovich dies.  I think it is Charlie Kaufman’s finest work, and I thought of this movie as I was watching “Anomalisa.”  I watched the news and saw that the San Jose Sharks lost a very tough game against the Nashville Predators.  The Giants gave up a ridiculous number of runs to the Colorado Rockies.  I saw Sally Field on the Dick Cavett Show from February 10, 1971.  She talked about the previous day’s earthquake in Los Angeles.  I saw Rob Lowe on the Jimmy Kimmel and thought of how much older he looked than when he was in “St. Elmo’s Fire.”  Some of the people who died on May 6 include Henry David Thoreau (1862), L. Frank Baum (1919), Wilfrid Hyde-White (1991), Marlene Dietrich (1992), Otis Blackwell (2002), Herb Sargent (2005), George Lindsey (2012), and Farley Mowat (2014).  Today is a birthday for George Clooney (55), Tom Bergeron (61), Bob Seger (71), and Willie Mays (85).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for May 6, Keith Richards came up with the opening guitar riff to “Satisfaction” in a Clearwater, Florida hotel room in 1965.  In 1977, Led Zeppelin performed to an audience of 76,229 at the Silverdome in Pontiac, Michigan, setting a record for attendance at a single-act concert.  In 1978, The Knack was formed in Los Angeles.  In 1994, during a taping of The Tonight Show with Jay Leno, Bobcat Goldthwait set his chair on fire and would be fined $3888.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

