Captain America: Civil War

I didn’t want to walk through the rain.  I checked my messages at the office and waited for the 1R bus.  I got to the Grand Lake Theatre about 15 minutes before “Captain America: Civil War” was to start.  I found that I didn’t want to see a story about factions and accords, especially during an election year.  I kept wondering what Captain America was made of.  I always thought he was just a soldier who was frozen for a long time.  I liked the scene that showed a young Tony Stark because it made me think back to the young Robert Downey, Jr. from movies like “Chances Are.”  I wonder how he felt about appearing in this movie and its action scenes.  The revelation about Stark’s parents was something that I didn’t like seeing.  The intersection there seemed like it was just there to set apart Stark and Rogers further.  I got pretty tired of Captain America and his righteousness.  I was also annoyed with Black Widow, who isn’t committed to the side she takes.  Scarlett Johansson has not improved as an actress, and I can also never believe her action scenes.  Peter Parker seemed too young to be a brilliant science student, and I don’t think he would really refer to “The Empire Strikes Back” as a really old movie.  Spider-Man was a tougher superhero than I thought, because I thought he would get squashed like a bug in the airport scene.  I don’t think I want to see Spider-Man in yet another series.  I never got past Tobey Maguire and Kirsten Dunst.  I’m not sure that I can accept Marisa Tomei as Aunt May.  I was trying to think of who Bucky Barnes reminded me of.  Maybe it was Steve Earle.  The comedies with Anthony Mackie in them have influenced the way I look at him.  I can’t really take him seriously as a superhero because he makes me think of Seth Rogen as the Green Hornet.  Don Cheadle has done all sorts of movies, but I think of him as that man from “Hotel Rwanda.”  I see him as someone who should not be in the armor.  In these movies, you shouldn’t be able to bounce back from serious injury because it’s too much like cartoon violence.  Jeremy Renner made his impression upon me in “The Hurt Locker.”  In this technological age, it seems like shooting arrows is out of place, even if they aren’t just plain arrows.  I liked seeing Paul Rudd as Ant-Man, although I didn’t understand why he should take either side.  I saw his size as an incredible disadvantage when he had to run around.  It took him quite an effort to run just a foot.  One character I liked watching was Vision.  He reminded me of Mr. Spock, and at least he was different from the others.  The action scenes had the speeded up quality that made me think of silent films, and I couldn’t help feeling rather disturbed at all the destruction they were causing.  It made me think of that if I were to take a side, I should go with Stark.  I did like the airport scene just for all the action.  What I got out of the movie was that Iron Man’s armor has weaknesses.  Maybe Stark should have put more thought into the design.  Somehow, the armor covering him like it was liquid metal is too fantastic.  Some things these superheroes do are too easy.  I see armor as something out of “Excalibur.”  The audience liked this movie more than I did.  I thought there was too much stuffing in it.  I didn’t really want seriousness and thought-provoking themes in a superhero movie because I think it borders on the ridiculous to do that. These characters in costumes are talking about the deaths of innocent people.  If you have those powers, you do have to be able to control them.  It makes me think of those incredibly strong basketball players who can’t make shots two feet away from the basket.  If you stay until the very end of the credits, you get another look at Spider-Man, who still seems like Spider-Adolescent.  Stan Lee did make his usual cameo appearance, although he seemed old for his job, and he should have known the name of a very famous person.  It seems that the movie has been getting positive reviews.  I think that I have seen too many superhero movies over the past ten years, and I didn’t find it so exciting.  I took the bus back home and had to see a couple of terrible people on board.  I shopped for groceries, and then went into the record store to buy a boxed DVD set of the last season of “NUMB3RS.”  I bought a slice of pizza and walked home to watch the Partridge Family episode “Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Partridge,” and then the NUMBERS episode “Hangman.”  Keith should have taken Danny, Chris, and Tracy to the beach.  I wondered where Larry bought his raspberries.  I also saw a bit of Orson Welles on the Dick Cavett Show.  They talked for a while about the existence of ghosts.  On the news, I saw that Hillary Clinton made an appearance in Oakland.  A lot of people wanted to see her, and many of them had to be turned away.  I saw a bit of video of Stevie Wonder singing “Purple Rain” in front of the City Hall building in Los Angeles.  Some of the people who died on May 7 include Antonio Salieri (1825), Dawn Addams (1985), Guy Williams (1989), Eddie Rabbitt (1998), and Ray Harryhausen (2013).  Today is a birthday for Traci Lords (48) and Michael Rosen (70).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for May 7, “The Black Cat,” the first movie to pair Boris Karloff with Bela Lugosi, was released in 1934.  In 1941, Glenn Miller recorded “Chattanooga Choo Choo.”  In 1987, NBC aired the fifth season finale of “Cheers,” titled “I Do, Adieu,” which marked the departure of Shelley Long’s character from the series.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

