Keanu

I watched CBS Sunday Morning.  Serena Altschul did a segment about women having children in their 40s.  I got a phone call from my parents, who didn’t tell me if they were doing anything for Mother’s Day.  I walked over to Trader Joe’s.  I got on the bus to Jack London Square.  I saw that there was no farmers’ market near the theatre.  It seemed that a lot of people were lined up to get tickets for “Captain America: Civil War.”  I was there for “Keanu.”  I was not familiar with Key and Peele, outside of seeing them on entertainment news.  I think that if you’re not already a fan of these two, you’re not going to fully enjoy this movie.  I think that this film is a skit that has been stretched out too long, and I didn’t find it as funny as most of the audience.  Rell and Clarence go out to see a Liam Neeson movie, which reminded me of how unlikely an action hero Neeson was.  There were references to “The Matrix,” and Keanu Reeves’ voice was used.  The story involves the familiar comedy plot of two main characters posing as other people, although it wasn’t quite like “Some Like It Hot.”  Clarence reminded me of Stan Laurel at times.  The funniest bit in the movie was Clarence getting the gang members to sing along to George Michael’s music.  I could not believe that even these guys could not tell that George Michael was white.  I did not recognize Anna Faris from “Scary Movie,” “Lost in Translation,” or “Brokeback Mountain.”  Rell and Clarence give themselves the names Tectonic and Shark Tank.  I don’t like the idea of having a cat for a pet, so I couldn’t see going to extremes to get a lost cat back.  It did make me think of an incident a few years back where people broke into the animal shelter to break their dog out of the place.  One of the characters I liked was Hi-C.  I thought Hi-C was the name of a drink or a musical note.  I will say that this movie made me feel that I was out of touch with pop culture, which is not necessarily a bad thing.  I was disturbed with the idea of the violent comedy around the time I saw “Pineapple Express,” although maybe it should have been “Beverly Hills Cop.”  “Keanu” was not among the memorable movies I’ve seen this year.  I’m not really all that eager to see another movie from Key and Peele.  They didn’t win me over.  I listened to the radio, and Chris Townsend had criticisms of the A’s starting pitchers.  Is Kendall Graveman a major league pitcher?  The A’s pitchers allowed six home runs in the game, which the team lost 11-3.  I took the bus to get home as quickly as I could.  I was interested in getting The Merv Griffin Show with Woody Allen, Leslie Uggams, and Hedy Lamarr.  It was from August 18, 1969.  Woody Allen talked about “Take the Money and Run.”  Leslie Uggams sang “Get Me to the Church on Time.”  Hedy Lamarr was 54 years old at the time, and she would live until January 2000, when she was 85.  Get TV had some interesting programs on yesterday.  The Andy Williams Show had Ray Charles, Cass Elliott, Simon and Garfunkel, and Burt Bacharach.  Another Merv Griffin episode featured Lucille Ball and Bob Hope from October 12, 1973.  Lucy mentioned her accident with the broken leg so I had an idea of what the time period was.  “Here’s Lucy” would last until March 14, 1974, so the talk of lasting many more years on television was kind of sad.  I had never seen The Judy Garland Show before.  I was waiting for the Merv Griffin Show from July 20, 1966 because I wanted to see what Jayne Mansfield was like.  She didn’t separate herself from Marilyn Monroe by singing “Diamonds Are a Girl’s Best Friend.”  She brought her children and dogs with her in an unusual appearance.  I listened to Robert Hilburn’s Rock ‘n’ Roll Times program on KCSN.  It was a pledge drive day.  He played songs by people whose birthdays were in May, so there were songs by Bob Dylan, U2, Stevie Wonder, The Who, John Fogerty, and Adele.  I liked hearing “Love Minus Zero/No Limit,” “Behind Blue Eyes,” and “Rock and Roll Girls” again.  The Columbo episode on Me TV was “An Exercise in Fatality” with Robert Conrad.  I did take a break from the television set to go into the Mad Monk store and look at the vinyl records.  I bought a Phil Spector album because my original copy got damaged from the rain a while back.  I also got something by Al Green.  Some of the people who died on May 9 include James Jones (1977), Edmond O’Brien (1985), Herschel Bernardi (1986), Dana Plato (1999), Lena Horne (2010), and Vidal Sassoon (2012).  Today is a birthday for Billy Joel (67), Candice Bergen (70), and Albert Finney (80).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for May 9, Alfred Hitchcock’s “Vertigo,” starring James Stewart and Kim Novak, premiered in San Francisco at the Stage Door Theater at Mason and Geary in 1958.  In 1986, “Short Circuit,” starring Steve Guttenberg and Ally Sheedy, was released.  In 1992, NBC aired the final episode of “The Golden Girls.”  In 2010, Lena Horne died of heart failure at age 92 in New York City.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

