Time Bandits

I went through my last lecture of new material before we head into final exams for the semester.  I went over to the record store, where I bought the Criterion Collection Blu-ray edition of “The Royal Tenenbaums” and a CD copy of Joanna Newsom’s “Divers.”  I had a hamburger before heading home to watch “Time Bandits” on Blu-ray.  It had a lot of fun ideas and images in it, like the moving wall, time travel, and meeting Robin Hood.  I wondered why Kevin’s parents didn’t notice the noise coming from his room the second time.  I kept thinking about how the Mona Lisa might be getting wet in the rain.  The cast was really very good, with Ian Holm, Ralph Richardson, and Sean Connery in the movie.  I didn’t see why Kevin wanted to stay with Agamemnon because he was going to run out of Polaroid film.  One of the amusing things was seeing how Kevin and the dwarfs escaped from that cage.  I thought that when the rope broke, a couple of those little guys were going to plunge to their deaths.  Ruth Gordon was cast as the ogre’s wife, which would have been perfect, but I wonder how she would have handled being pushed into the water.  I thought about the Polaroid picture Kevin took of the map.  Even with a magnifying glass, he couldn’t have seen much detail in that photo.  I thought it was rather funny how in the battle at the end, the cowboys wanted to attack first.  What is somewhat disturbing in the film is how people explode, although it is typical of Monty Python.  I read through the Roger Ebert review of the movie, which said that it lacked the timing of great comedy.  I still like watching this movie.  It reminds me of a time when I took more pleasure in going out to the theatre.  The movie on Blu-ray looked quite good.  Some of the people who died on May 13 include Bob Wills (1975), Chet Baker (1988), Paul Bartel (2000), Jason Miller (2001), Donald “Duck” Dunn (2012), and Dr. Joyce Brothers (2013).  Today is a birthday for Dennis Rodman (55) and Stevie Wonder (66).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for May 13, Gary Cooper died at age 60 in 1961.  In 1965, the Rolling Stones recorded “Satisfaction.”  In 1970, the Beatles’ film “Let It Be” had its New York premiere.  In 1974, 50 people were injured when people threw bottles outside a Jackson Five concert at RFK Stadium in Washington, DC.  In 1977, “The Beatles at the Hollywood Bowl” album was released.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

