Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas

I watched a couple of game shows before paying a visit to the office briefly.  I took the buses out to the Grand Lake Theatre, where I saw “Captain America: Civil Wars” for a second time.  This time I remembered who Hope Davis was.  It seemed like Scarlett Johansson’s acting was worse than ever.  What I found really odd was what Peter Parker was supposed to be a scientific genius, and yet he was boasting about doing well on an algebra test.  I took the bus over to Best Buy, where I bought a CD player.  I was going to take it to baseball games because it also had an FM radio.  I went all the way over to Big 5 Sporting Goods to buy more baseball scorebooks.  All of this took three hours, and then I was tired and headed home.  I had a craving for hot dogs because I remembered them from my childhood.  I sat down to watch the Partridge Family episode “Days of Acne and Roses” and the NUMB3RS episode “Friendly Fire.”  Danny described the way that Laurie ate carrots.  Larry was quitting teaching.  I listened to the end of the A’s game in Tampa Bay.  They were ahead by three runs in the bottom of the ninth inning, but Ryan Madson insisted on loading the bases before getting the last out.  I watched “Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas” again, this time on Blu-ray.  I kept an eye out for all the American flags in the movie, although I didn’t count them.  I’d say that my favorite songs on the soundtrack were “Combination of the Two,” “For Your Love,” “Time is Tight,” and “Jumpin’ Jack Flash.”  I wondered how the crew created the messes in the hotel rooms.  Benicio Del Toro must have been sickened by that bathtub.  I thought it was funny that Debbie Reynolds did the voice of herself.  It was interesting that both Cameron Diaz and Ellen Barkin were in the movie because I used to think of him as being alike.  I wondered if the beer mixed with dust really was beer and dust.  With all the stars like Mark Harmon and Christina Ricci making cameo appearances, this movie felt like a twisted version of “It’s a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World.”  The quality of the video was very good.  Watching this disc was just about as good as seeing it in a theatre, which I actually did recently.  It’s not as enjoyable as “Time Bandits” or “The Adventures of Baron Munchausen,” and I don’t like it as much as “Brazil.”  The one notable cast member who was also in both “Time Bandits” and “Brazil” was Katherine Helmond.  I thought of what was the last Terry Gilliam film that I really liked.  I would say that it was “The Fisher King.”  Gilliam is 75 years old now, and I wonder how many more films he has left in him.  The Don Quixote movie sounds promising, but can he pull it off?  Some of the people who died on May 14 include Emma Goldman (1940), Sidney Bechet (1959), Billie Burke (1970), Hugh Griffith (1980), Rita Hayworth (1987), Lyle Alzado (1992), Frank Sinatra (1998), Dave DeBusschere (2003), Robert Stack (2003), and B.B. King (2015).  Today is a birthday for Tim Roth (55), David Byrne (64), and George Lucas (72).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for May 14, Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young announced their breakup in 1970.  In 1989, NBC aired the final episode of “Family Ties.”  In 1998, Frank Sinatra died of a heart attack in Los Angeles at age 82.  Also in 1998, the last episode of “Seinfeld” aired on NBC.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

