The Jungle Book

I watched CBS Sunday Morning, and I thought one of the interesting segments was about Listerine.  I walked out to buy some groceries, and I saw one of my former students walking around with a sign saying that he was homeless.  I watched “Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels” but found the DVD to be wanting in quality.  I waited for a while to take the buses out to the Grand Lake Theatre.  I was there to see “The Jungle Book” again.”  It was not on the main screen, so the movie was not as enjoyable the second time.  I couldn’t get behind the wolves and their philosophy, which seemed like being in the Marines.  Bill Murray was the best of the animal voices.  He made me think of his days with “Caddyshack.”  I wondered why Mowgli didn’t get stung on the feet by those bees.  There was a news story on television about bees in Concord, and they were supposedly killer bees.  I liked Christopher Walken, even if I don’t associate him with Disney.  I wondered why the animals referred to fire as the “red flower,” because if they were smart enough to talk, then they should have recognized that fire was not a flower.  I didn’t notice which voice was Garry Shandling’s.  I thought that Mowgli didn’t have great survival instincts if he could set his food down so that an animal could grab it.  What he did at the end with the tiger chasing him seemed like it was impossible, but if he didn’t have a fear of heights and could climb the vine, I would have to give him some credit.  The death at the end seemed like it might be frightening for little kids.  It wasn’t too pleasant for me to watch, either, although it was better than “Trog.”  The filming location was listed as Los Angeles.  How many people in the cast have been to India?  If Baloo wasn’t going to hibernate, I wondered what he was going to do with his time.  It seemed like he was going to sleep a lot.  I questioned why he told Mowgli that he was going to hibernate if Mowgli had no concept of hibernation in the first place.  I thought about Ben Kingsley’s career.  He’s been in many good movies, and I liked him ever since I saw him in “Gandhi” all those years ago.  I think he does a good job in this movie, too.  There were some fun bits during the end credits, although I could have done without Scarlett Johansson’s singing.  It seems that she has made enough money in her lifetime.  “The Jungle Book” was something of a crowd pleaser.  People applauded after it was over.  I thought about the Disney movies I watched when I was a child and how foolish they were.  I hurried back home and listened to Robert Hilburn’s Rock ‘n’ Roll Times program, which featured most of the songs from Johnny Cash’s “Artist’s Choice” album from 2003.  He didn’t play Johnny Horton’s “North to Alaska.”  Also, “Peace in the Valley” was played twice at the end instead of Mahalia Jackson to end the show, for some reason.  The A’s managed to score two runs with two outs in the top of the ninth inning to win against Tampa Bay.  Danny Valencia hit three home runs in the game.  Sonny Gray’s performance was troubling, as he gave up three home runs and looked nothing like an ace.  We weren’t expecting Rich Hill to be the team’s best starting pitcher at this point in the season.  The Columbo episode was one of those Patrick McGoohan classics, with shades of “Taps.”  It was called “By Dawn’s Early Light.”  I heard about the death of Madeleine Lebeau from “Casablanca” had died at age 92.  Some of the people who died on May 16 include Django Reinhardt (1953), Andy Kaufman (1984), Margaret Hamilton (1985), Sammy Davis, Jr. (1990), and Jim Henson (1990).  Today is a birthday for Pierce Brosnan (63) and Danny Trejo (72).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for May 16, Bob Dylan’s “Blonde on Blonde” album was released in 1966.  In 1970, the Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young album “Déjà vu” reached Number One on the album chart.  In 1986, the ninth season finale of “Dallas” aired on CBS, revealing that Bobby Ewing was still alive and that the entire season was his wife’s dream.  Also in 1986, “Top Gun” was released.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

