Sonny Gray’s 6.19 ERA

I went over to Target to buy a few items.  I thought about trying a coloring book if I could find a decent one.  I bought a Blu-ray disc of “Overboard” in anticipation of watching a Charlize Theron triple feature.  The two other movies I would have to find are “Splash” and “Dirty Dancing.”  I returned home to have my lunch.  I watched the Partridge Family episode “Tale of Two Hamsters” and the NUMB3RS episode “7 Men Out.”  I bought a hamburger before I took BART out to the Coliseum.  After the bad news about Josh Reddick’s thumb injury, A’s fans were hoping for a good performance from Sonny Gray.  He got the first two batters of the game out before encountering trouble with a double and a single.  He got the last out with a fly ball to left field.  In the second inning, Gray allowed only a two-out single.  In the third inning, he walked two batters and threw a wild pitch, but he escaped with a strikeout.  Meanwhile, the A’s had scored in the second inning.  Billy Butler walked with one out, and then Stephen Vogt was hit by a pitch.  After Jake Smolinski lined out to left, Matt McBride came through with a hit to score Butler.  It was ruled a single, although I thought it was a double.  The fourth inning was Gray’s undoing.  He got the first batter out, but then gave up a walk, a single, and a triple to make the score 2-1 in favor of the Yankees.  After that, catcher’s interference allowed the next batter to get on base, charged as an error on Vogt.  A wild pitch that allowed the runner at third base to score, a walk, and another wild pitch put runners at first and third with still just one out.  The next hit was one that Coco Crisp in centerfield misjudged, as it went over his head for a double to make the score 5-1.  That was Sonny Gray’s last pitch, as Bob Melvin brought in Ryan Dull, who ended the inning with five pitches that resulted in a ground out to first and a fly ball to right.  The A’s did almost nothing on offense in the middle three innings of the game, getting only a single from Khris Davis.  Dull was pushed to throw more pitches than he was accustomed to, and Marcus Semien didn’t help him in the fifth inning with an error.  Dull walked a batter following the error, but he escaped without giving up a run in the inning.  Butler had also committed an error in the inning when he dropped a foul ball.  In the sixth inning, Dull gave up a single and a double for a run before closing the inning getting three consecutive outs.  The A’s didn’t seem able to come up with five more runs with four innings left.  Curiously, the Big Head race did not happen.  I wondered if the wind would have toppled one of them over.  It looked like Rickey Henderson had gone missing.  We got the shell game instead.  Andrew Triggs was asked to get through the last three innings of the game.  He allowed two singles and a walk in the seventh inning, but a double play helped him get through the inning without giving up any runs.  During the seventh inning, we heard a James Brown song, which I think was “I Got You,” but I was barely paying any attention.  Triggs pitched the A’s only clean inning in the eighth.  I felt like a miracle in this terrible game.  The A’s were unable to do anything in the bottom of the inning.  After we heard Van Halen’s “Jump,” Triggs pitched the top of the ninth inning.  He got the first two batters out before apparently tiring, giving up two singles and a triple for a Yankees lead of 8-2.  He struck out the next batter to end the inning.  In the bottom of the ninth inning, Billy Burns pinch hit for Vogt, hitting a triple.  Burns scored on Smolinski’s ground ball to third.  McBride popped out to first, and Ladendorf lined out to right to end the game.  The game had started at 6:38 with a game time temperature of 59 degrees, and it ended at 9:51.  The attendance was 28,235.  I left my seat because the soda I had before the game made me want to take a leak.  I thought about watching the fireworks from the parking lot, but the wind and cold were making me feel miserable, so I took the shuttle bus to the BART station and headed home.  I listened to the radio wrap-up of the game, and it was still a mystery as to what Sonny Gray’s problems were.  His ERA had increased to an unbelievable 6.19.  Chris Townsend compared him to Tim Lincecum.  Could Gray really have lost it?  It was hard to accept.  It was disappointing to see him struggle to get those outs, and the wild pitches were disturbing.  He threw 98 pitches in less than four innings.  I keep thinking that his problem was something in his head, but now I wonder if he has some type of physical problem.  Coco Crisp had a rough night out in centerfield with two plays.  I listened to a Chris Stapleton album on my way home.  The day was Cher’s 70th birthday, and so I saw a bit of “Suspect” on a movie channel.  I watched a bit of Stephen Colbert and James Corden before I went to sleep.  Some of the people who died on May 20 include John Garfield (1952), Kenneth Clark (1983), Alejandro Rey (1987), and John Gielgud (2000).  Today is a birthday for Mr. T (64), Leo Sayer (68), and Ronald Isley (75).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for May 21, The Beatles announced that they hired Allen Klein to straighten out their finances.  In 1979, Elton John became the first Western rock star permitted to perform in the Soviet Union.  In 1980, Joe Strummer of The Clash was arrested in Hamburg, Germany after he smashed his guitar over the head of an audience member.  In 2003, Ruben Studdard was the winner of the second American Idol competition.

This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

