Golden State Warriors 104, Cleveland Cavaliers 89

I saw Danny Bonaduce in an episode of The Ghost and Mrs. Muir, taunting one of the Muir children about writing a history report that was un-American.  I walked over to the office to finish my grades and submit them.  The academic year was finally over for me.  There are maybe three students I will remember beyond this semester.  I did some grocery shopping before I took the bus out to the Oracle Arena.  They had things set up so that you had to go through a metal detector before you got to the building.  Once I got inside the building, I went to the team store.  I thought about buying a T-shirt, but all I bought was a lanyard.  The crowd was late in arriving.  Fifteen minutes before tip-off, half the seats were still empty.  There were T-shirts on every seat, and on the armrests were bracelets with colored lights.  There was a video feature on a fan who made the trip to Shanghai to attend the game.  He followed games on his computer, and he said that the game tickets didn’t cost very much.  Franco Finn and Ruby Lopez were outside the arena as they did their pregame show.  DJ D-sharp was still around, using part of “Shining Star” for his bit.  John Legend sang the national anthem.  There was a group of Cavaliers fans in the back who were met with a lot of hostility.  I thought they were supporting a losing cause.  It seemed that this would be one of those games where the home team would take the lead and not relinquish it at all.  During the warmups, Stephen Curry was exceptional, l looking like he couldn’t miss.  During the game, he didn’t score as many points as expected, and he made a couple of horrendous passes.  The fans were pretty satisfied, though, with a four-point lead after one quarter at 28-24.  We saw a contest between two young girls involving push-ups, dribbling a basketball, jumping jacks, and making a layup at the other end of the court.  During the second quarter, we thought the Warriors might be pulling away.  I saw a text from my friend John telling me that I was catching a good game.  Two of the fans to my right annoyingly talked very loudly about their work.  Klay Thompson committed fouls and didn’t look like his Game 6 self.  We saw MC Hammer in the crowd.  A fan behind me kept yelling constant criticisms of shot selections as if he was the coach.  The score was 52-43 at halftime.  During the break, G-Eazy stood in the middle of the court and delivered a rap about the Warriors, although I couldn’t hear all of the words.  I would say that it was an unexciting performance.  During the regular season, the Warriors would often lay waste to the visiting team in the third quarter.  That wouldn’t happen this time, as the Cavaliers closed the gap and actually took a one-point lead.  Warriors fans weren’t quite alarmed, though.  They still seemed to feel confident.  They had been playing good defensive near the basket, punching the ball away.  Draymond Green made a dreadful pass that seemed to open the door for the Cavaliers.  The Warriors didn’t instantly retake the lead for the rest of the game, but they did end the quarter with a 74-68 lead.  That meant that they were outscore in the quarter, 25-22.  The player who was impressing the crowd was Shaun Livingston.  He was making key shots time and again.  The Warriors were fortunate to have such a player who could come off the bench and score all those points.  He made us forget the pass that hit Curry in the back when he wasn’t looking, or the steal of the ball from Curry’s hands when he was unaware of a defender.  The home team would have a very good fourth quarter.  The lead ballooned to twenty points, and the Cleveland fans were deflated.  It was only a matter of time, and the fan behind screamed that the Warriors were letting the Cavaliers back into the game.  The three-point shot proved to be the lethal weapon, though.  The fans didn’t seem to pay much attention to the McDonald’s parachute drop.  When the clock ran out, the score was 104-89.  The Warriors had outscored the Cavaliers in the fourth quarter, 30-21.  Shaun Livingston was the hero of the game with his 20 points.  I made my way out of the building and saw some of the fireworks as I walked to the BART station.  The bracelets we wore flashed different colors during the game, and after every score.  Outside, though, it showed only two colors when you shook it.  Fans were confident that the Warriors were on their way to another championship.  I think a lot of them had false notions of how the team was perceived.  They think the team isn’t respected.  Maybe they’re paying too much attention to Charles Barkley.  On the bus over to the stadium, I heard someone talk about a friend who had “dropped off the radar,” mixing his expressions.  You drop off a cliff, and you stay under the radar.  People don’t know how to use the English language, really.  People arrive late to six o’clock games, but the good thing about it is that you get out early.  The sky wasn’t completely dark when we got out, and I wasn’t too tired when I got home.  I went to the Super Bowl in February and Game 1 last night.  I don’t think I’ll make it to San Jose for a hockey game, though.  I walked past the sports bar where people had been watching the game.  It was relatively quiet at this point.  There was more noise out on the street after Game 7 on Memorial Day.  Someone had tried to phone me while I was out but didn’t leave a message.  I hope that it didn’t have anything to do with the dumpster fire.  I took off my Strength in Numbers shirt from the game and looked at the signatures on the back.  I was tired and fell asleep quickly.  It had been a day of memories.  Some of the people who died on June 3 include Georges Bizet (1875), Johann Strauss (1899), Franz Kafka (1924), Roberto Rossellini (1977), Anthony Quinn (2001), Leon Askin (2005), David Carradine (2009), Rue McClanahan (2010), James Arness (2011), and Deacon Jones (2013).  Today is a birthday for Anderson Cooper (49) and Deniece Williams (66).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for June 3, The Beatles’ “Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band” album was released in the United States in 1967.  Also in 1967, Aretha Franklin reached Number One on the singles chart with “Respect.”  In 1969, the last Star Trek episode was aired on NBC.  In 1975, Ozzie Nelson died at age 69.  In 1976, Queen’s “Bohemian Rhapsody” was certified gold.

This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

