Alice Through the Looking Glass

I went out to do my laundry, and I did some reading.  I had a financial matter to settle, and I sat in the office for a while.  I went grocery shopping, and bought a cupcake from the bake shop before taking the bus over to the Grand Lake Theatre for the 4:15 showing of “Alice Through the Looking Glass.”  It got quite a few bad reviews, which is understandable because it is loud and annoying and lacking substance.  It is overloaded with CGI effects, and Johnny Depp turns in a remarkably irritating performance.  I wanted to confront the screenwriter on how the characters were drawn.  The opening sequence has Alice doing something that is impossible.  The dilemma of the ship vs. the house was something that was predictable until the ending if you viewed this as a woman’s picture.  Alice’s mother seemed to make the worst decisions, and she deserved our scorn for selling the shares.  I had to feel sick at the way male characters were presented, which made me think back to “Brave.”  Sacha Baron Cohen was Time, and I felt sick of seeing him.  There were scenes that reminded me of “Hugo.”  I wouldn’t say that Anne Hathaway added anything great to this film.  I didn’t think she showed much conviction in her part.  Helena Bonham Carter was tiresome, although I did laugh at her ant farm comment.  Sadly, this is Alan Rickman’s last movie.  I saw the first Alice movie too long ago.  Tim Burton wasn’t the director this time out, but he was the producer.  I miss the days of “Edward Scissorhands” and “Ed Wood.”  All that stuff that happens toward the end is rather frightening for the little kids.  I don’t know how they could stand it.  I think that everyone must have hated what went on between Miranda and Iracebeth and the tart.  When I looked at the writing credit, the name was Linda Woolverton, who worked on “Beauty and the Beast,” “The Lion King,” “Alice in Wonderland,” and “Maleficent.”  She is 63 years old now.  She has some strong titles to her credit, but this latest is not one of her notable ones.  This movie has been a flop at the box office.  It is an uninspired creation which doesn’t make you feel anything.  I think the critics have been a bit too harsh on it, though.  I wasn’t expecting a masterpiece when I went to see this one. I paid only five dollars to see it, so I wasn’t too unhappy.  Tim Burton needed to create some magic here instead of simply spending a lot of money.  I went back home during a cold and breezy afternoon to watch “You Can’t Take It with You” and “Holiday” on television.  James Stewart had a scene that was like something from “It’s a Wonderful Life.”  Cary Grant and Katharine Hepburn looked young.  Some of the people who died on June 8 include Andrew Jackson (1845), Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov (1908), Satchel Paige (1982), and Frank Cady (2012).  Today is a birthday for Bonnie Tyler (65), Nancy Sinatra (76), and Jerry Stiller (89).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

