Finding Dory

I went over to the office to finish some writing.  I struggled with the computer.  I took the 1 bus and the 57 bus over to the Grand Lake Theatre to see “Finding Dory.”  I thought it was a good movie, but not extraordinary.  It tries for deep emotion, and it’s pretty effective, although I wished they could have come from with an idea different from the separation of families.  It’s almost like the fish were war refugees or something like that.  The movie seems to have the wrong title.  It should really be called “Finding Dory’s Parents.”  I didn’t recognize Diane Keaton as one of the voices.  I thought Albert Brooks sounded much older than in the first movie.  When Dory becomes the main character, she becomes somewhat annoying, at least to me.  She has the right voice in Ellen DeGeneres.  There are struggles to keep the action in the story close to water.  The messages in this movie were irritating at times.  I can’t stand the idea of telling children that they can do anything if they try hard enough.  I don’t think that all obstacles can be overcome.  If you try to stretch out for something that is out of reach, you’re going to slip and fall and fracture your arm in three places.  I don’t want to feel that someone is trying to teach me something when I watch a movie like this.  I don’t want someone to preach to me how to live my life, that I’m living too comfortably, or that the creatures in an aquarium should be living free in the ocean.  I liked the 3D effects showing the underwater environment.  Sometimes I felt that the Albert Brooks character was too human, like the fish that were in “Monty Python’s The Meaning of Life.”  An important character in this movie was an octopus.  It seemed incredible that he could drive a truck.  He passed streets that were in Berkeley going towards Emeryville, where Pixar is located.  A sign for the Ashby exit was also visible in “Harold and Maude,” a movie that came to mind when the truck fell.  Some of the philosophy is questionable, like the implication that blind action is more useful than careful thought.  What would Dory do?  I don’t remember much of what happened in “Finding Nemo.”  Would seeing it again have made a difference in the way I viewed this sequel?  I wished that Pixar could have given us a new concept instead of dishing out a sequel.  What preceded the movie was a short called “Piper,” which also gave us a message, this time about dealing with childhood fears.  It was likable enough.  Well, I would say that “Finding Dory” made for a good afternoon at the movies.  It should satisfy fans of the first movie and Pixar fans.  This was a more enjoyable movie than “The Good Dinosaur” was.  I took the buses back home and went to the grocery store.  I watched the old episodes of Family Feud and Match Game before I went browsing through the record store.  I bought only one vinyl album of Reggie Knighton.  I looked through the Criterion Collection Blu-ray bins and found nothing there that I wanted.  Someone had bought the copy of “Diabolique” that I had my eyes on.  I noticed that some programs on television had Peter Falk in them, remembering him on the date of his death, I presume.  I thought he did a good job as a Castro-like dictator in a Twilight Zone episode called “The Mirror.”  Some of the people who died on June 24 include Grover Cleveland (1908), Jackie Gleason (1987), Brian Keith (1997), David Tomlinson (2000), Paul Winchell (2005), and Eli Wallach (2014).  Today is a birthday for Mindy Kaling (37) and Mick Fleetwood (69).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for June 24, “Hopalong Cassidy” became the first network Western television series when it was aired on NBC in 1949.  In 1970, Mike Nichols’ film version of “Catch-22” was released.  In 1972, Helen Reddy’s single “I Am Woman” entered the Hot 100 of the singles chart.  In 1983, “Twilight Zone: The Movie” was released.  In 1987, Jackie Gleason died of cancer at age 71 at his home in Florida.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

