Independence Day: Resurgence

I woke up and watched CBS This Morning and the chef segment.  Douglas Keane’s signature dishes include Grilled rib eye, Greek salad, Creamed corn with pickled ginger and cilantro, and Grilled peaches with minted yogurt.  I looked up the American Top 40 playlist for the weekend.  The Top 10 songs on June 27, 1972 were “Too Late to Turn Back Now,” “Oh Girl,” “(Last Night) I Didn’t Get to Sleep at All,” “Lean on Me,” “Troglodyte (Cave Man),” “I’ll Take You There,” “Nice to Be with You,” “Outa-Space,” “Song Sung Blue,” and “The Candy Man.”  I took the buses out to the Grand Lake Theatre, where I saw “Independence Day: Resurgence.”  Will Smith did not return, which made this sequel less appealing than the original, since I didn’t care to see Thor in this movie.  We did get Jeff Goldblum, Judd Hirsch, Vivica A. Fox, and Robert Loggia.  It seems that Will Smith wanted too much to appear in this movie for the producers to have him.  I think that even with all his wealth, he needs more money because he has to provide for his son, who obviously cannot make a living as an actor.  The movie was remarkably loud and uninspired.  I thought that there was practically no suspense, knowing that there was going to be another sequel.  When you see so much CGI on the screen, you start to hate it.  I think I started to feel that way when I saw “Spider-Man 3.”  I don’t know why this year’s mothership had to be so much bigger than the one in 1996.  The Earth really should have been annihilated immediately.  I could not believe that the world united after the first attack.  It didn’t happen in The Twilight Zone or The Outer Limits, so it couldn’t happen in the Independence Day universe.  I thought that the cast in this movie was forgettable.  Outside of the returning actors, I hardly knew anybody.  They should be rethought the script, because it made the invasion of the Earth pretty boring.  We’ve seen The War of the Worlds and Cloverfield.  These aliens are a threat because there are a lot of them with a big ship.  Are they really frightening in any way?  I kept thinking that it was impossible to drive a bus avoiding all the danger we see.  It seemed that it should have toppled over.  The ending of the movie was unconvincing, and the last thing we heard was that we were going to kick some serious alien ass.  The next sequel figures to be louder and more ridiculous than this one.  This movie was routine and only moderately entertaining.  It does bring back the feeling of an old monster movie from the 1960s.  I don’t think another sequel should be made, because this movie was tired and lacking in imagination.  It seemed that there were more people out to see “Finding Dory” this weekend.  This movie felt like it was made about eighteen years too late.  What is a little bit frightening is that this year’s college freshmen weren’t born yet when the original movie was released.  I stopped by Trader Joe’s before I returned home.  There was a boxing match on CBS, which felt like a flashback to 1978, but I fell asleep while watching it.  The Star Trek episode on Me TV featured Julie Newmar and Tige Andrews, and it was called “Friday’s Child.”  The Klingons were jerks.  Spock was showing too much emotion at the end.  I heard about the death of Bill Cunningham at age 87.  Some of the people who died on June 26 include James Weldon Johnson (1938), Roy Campanella (1993), and Nora Ephron (2012).  Today is a birthday for Gretchen Wilson (43) and Chris Isaak (60).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

