Now You See Me 2

I awoke and watched CBS This Morning.  Serena Altschul did a segment on fashion as art.  After going out grocery shopping, I took the 6 bus and the 72R bus out to Jack London Square.  Families were lined up outside the theatre for “Finding Dory,” but I was there for “Now You See Me 2.”  The use of magic reminded me of the Bill Bixby television show “The Magician.”  The only appeal I could see for Chinese movie fans was the setting.  The magic was impossible, and the acting was not great.  I think that I like Jesse Eisenberg less each time I see him in a movie.  Mark Ruffalo had some of his “Spotlight” personality left over, but without the accent.  The part of the plot with his father was not too imaginative.  Woody Harrelson has done some great roles, but this isn’t one of them.  I couldn’t believe that he could hypnotize anyone.  Morgan Freeman was in prison, bringing back some memories of “The Shawshank Redemption.”  Dan Franco is part of the group, with a demeanor that was like James Franco.  Lizzy Caplan becomes a Horsewoman, and she was like the girl in “2 Broke Girls.”  The cast also has Michael Caine and Daniel Radcliffe.  Michael Caine has been in good and bad movies over the years, so this one is just another job for him.  Daniel Radcliffe has not shown that he can convincingly play anyone other than Harry Potter.  Even Hermione showed that she didn’t have to be Hermione in every movie.  Some of the plot just reminded me of why I can’t stand this age of the Internet, cell phones, and social media.  It seems that a lot of big movies have to includes plot points that are based in China because of the huge movie audience there, but it doesn’t have to be so artificial, like a product placement the way it is here.  I can also recall “The Martian” and “Independence Day: Resurgence” doing the same thing.  We see a lot of the story taking place in Macau.  The scenes I absolutely couldn’t stand where the tossing around of the playing card and Atlas manipulating the rain.  Don’t tell me that is magic.  It might be the magic of special effects, but it’s not anything else.  The ending left me hoping that a third movie would not be made, even though the people in China were foolish enough to buy a lot of tickets.  This was a very foolish movie.  It made me want to see “The Flim-Flam Man” and “The Sting” again.  I returned home and listened to Robert Hilburn’s Rock ‘n’ Roll Times radio program on KCSN, featuring Emmylou Harris’ Artist’s Choice picks.  I liked “Coat of Many Colors,” “Big City,” and “Nebraska.”  The Columbo episode on Me TV was “Make Me a Perfect Murder,” and it had Trish Van Devere in it.  She should have been more careful with that glove.  Some of the people who died on June 27 include Jack Lemmon (2001), John Entwistle (2002), Shelby Foote (2005), and Gale Storm (2009).  Today is a birthday for J.J. Abrams (50) and Vera Wang (67).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

