Central Intelligence

I heard about the death of Buddy Ryan.  Those Chicago Bears had their championship season 31 years ago.  I took the buses over to the Grand Lake Theatre to see “Central Intelligence.”  It was the only movie that they had there that I hadn’t seen yet.  The stars were Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart, and I found as I watched that the movie was reminiscent of “The In-Laws” with Peter Falk and Alan Arkin.  Bob was a high school misfit.  I don’t know why he would be taking a shower as the rest of the student body was at a rally, setting him up to be the victim of a humiliating prank.  Meanwhile, Calvin is the most popular student at the school, and he is the only person who moved to help Bob.  This was all supposed to happen in 1996.  Fast forward to the present, and Bob has shaped up into the form of Dwayne Johnson, but he is very mysterious.  Meanwhile, Calvin has become Kevin Hart, stuck in a boring job as an accountant.  Bob is involved in a plot involving international money that we never see, but like a Hitchcock McGuffin, it all boils down to a code in a small device.  We can’t really tell if Bob is one of the good guys or the bad guys, and Calvin’s wife never knows what is going on.  I thought that the funniest scene had Bob posing as a marriage counselor.  I will say that Dwayne Johnson was rather funny in this movie, although I wouldn’t say that he is subtle.  He was in “Get Smart,” but I don’t remember what he did in that movie.  C.I.A. agents are in constant pursuit of the odd pair, and they’re not effective.  The guy from “Breaking Bad” is part of the story as Bob’s former partner.  There was a cameo appearance of a character named Darla at the end that wasn’t hugely surprising.  I laughed at times, although I kept thinking about “The In-Laws,” and on Mel Brooks’ 90th birthday, I thought that this movie wasn’t as funny as “Blazing Saddles” or “Young Frankenstein.”  It was loud and tried to be outrageous.  It was rather uncomfortable how Jason Bateman was the bully and how he was treated.  Having seen “The In-Laws,” this movie was a bit less enjoyable than it would have been.  It was slightly annoying how an old concept was redone and dressed up for today.  However, as I walked out of the theatre, a woman with a bag of popcorn waiting outside asked me what the movie was like, and I said it was pretty funny.  I certainly didn’t want to ruin it for her.  I listened to the first half-inning of the A’s-Giants game, and Josh Reddick got a hit in his first at-bat returning from his injury.  During the bus ride home, a woman exiting the bus fell down, delaying my return home.  If she couldn’t get off a bus without stumbling, I have to wonder how she is going to cope with life.  I watched about half an hour of “The Producers.”  It was a very good movie, and still meaningful today, as I look at all the terrible concepts for Broadway shows, along with the success of “Hamilton.”  I tried to watch “Bandolero!”  However, I fell asleep.  James Stewart was getting old for this kind of Western, and unfortunately, Raquel Welch spoke with an awkward accent.  I didn’t see Dean Martin’s appeal.  George Kennedy and Will Geer were also in the cast.  On the anniversary of Rod Serling’s death, The Dick Cavett Show featured him talking about “The Man,” which had the feeling of being outdated in these Obama years.  Serling also talked about Night Gallery and his not having any control over the series.  Some of the people who died on June 29 include Eric Dolphy (1964), Jayne Mansfield (1967), Tim Buckley (1975), Bob Crane (1978), Lana Turner (1995), Rosemary Clooney (2002), Katharine Hepburn (2003), and Joel Siegel (2007).  Today is a birthday for Gary Busey (72).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for June 29, Peter Frampton was involved in an auto accident in 1978 in which he suffered a broken arms and cracked ribs.  In 1984, “Conan the Destroyer” was released.  Also in 1984, “Bachelor Party” was released.  Also in 1984, “Cannonball Run II, featuring stars like Burt Reynolds, Dean Martin, Sammy Davis, Jr., and Frank Sinatra, was released.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

