Invasion of the Body Snatchers

I awoke just before six o’clock, and I watched CBS This Morning.  I saw the chef segment.  Some of Barbara Lynch’s signature dishes include B&G lobster rolls, B&G coleslaw, Poulet au pain, Tomato tarte pain, Beet salad with blue cheese and black olive croutons, Creamy vanilla bread pudding, and Pasta with potatoes and pesto.  I looked up the American Top 40 playiist for the weekend.  The Top 10 songs on July 12, 1975 were “I’m Not in Love,” “When Will I Be Loved,” “Swearin’ to God,” “One of These Nights,” “Please Mr. Please,” “Magic,” “Wildfire,” “Listen to What the Man Said,” “The Hustle,” and “Love Will Keep Us Together.”  I went to work and put in six hours.  When I returned home, I took a nap and then watched “Invasion of the Body Snatchers,” the 1978 version with Donald Sutherland, Brooke Adams, Leonard Nimoy, Jeff Goldblum, and Veronica Cartwright.  It had cameo appearance from Robert Duvall, Kevin McCarthy, and Don Siegel.  In many ways, this one was the best of all movie versions.  It had the right setting.  One character went from being a Warriors fanatic to emotionless zombie.  Maybe that is not unusual for San Francisco in 1978.  One of my favorite moments in the entire movie is the scene where Brooke rolls her eyes around.  Sutherland was right when he said that the pod people could never do anything like that.  There are all sorts of ominous and creepy details, like garbage trucks and bumping into people.  All sorts of people didn’t look like they were affected, particularly a school bus full of children at the end.  Some of the night photography reminded me of “Taxi Driver.”  Sutherland made some horrendous mistakes, like trusting Nimoy and calling the police too many times.  I wondered why the group didn’t try to leave the city promptly.  I’m not sure how Sutherland and Brooke ran from a location that seemed to be near the airport all the way back to City Hall.  I thought that Veronica Cartwright gave a great performance with her screams and anguish.  Jeff Goldblum seemed like the same person he was in “Jurassic Park” in the face of an emergency.  Leonard Nimoy was excellent.  He perfectly played one of those quack psychologists from the 1970s.  Everyone should have suspected him immediately.  The special effect with the dog wasn’t completely convincing.  I thought a big lesson from the movie was to keep your mouth shut.  Every time anyone talked about the pods, it was just giving information to the creatures.  The question was whether the new life form was really a superior life form, or if they were all suffering from delusions.  Sutherland killed more of the pod creatures than anyone else, it seemed.  He was just slowing the flow.  I thought that at the end he showed signs of nonconformity and being unusual.  There seemed to be some traces of humanity in some of the pod people, namely Nimoy.  I didn’t understand why they continued performing their jobs in the health department, however.  The last shot of Veronica was unforgettable and powerful.  I wondered if modern technology would have been helpful to deal with this situation.  Somehow, I doubt it.  Social media would just spread the stupidity around faster.  Cinematographer Michael Chapman deserved a lot of credit for the way the film turned out.  The dark and shadowy look certainly added to the mystery and tension.  I think I enjoyed watching this movie again more last night than I did many years ago.  It is sad to think that Leonard Nimoy has died.  He should have done a couple more movies like this.  Watching this movie made me feel pessimistic about the future of the human race.  It seems that we’re too stupid to survive.  We don’t notice very much about our surroundings, and we come up with dumb explanations for what is going on around us.  One book that someone in the mud bath was reading was “Worlds in Collision.”  I don’t know why anyone would try to film another Body Snatchers movie after the first two.  Someone could have tried to discuss race in a remake, with shades of “Blacula.”  Well, I think this version of “Invasion of the Body Snatchers” is a science fiction classic.  I’ll always remember it because of the memories it gave me.  There was still some magic in movies in the late seventies.  We still had special effects with slimy materials and shots filmed in reverse.  It was all still fun before computers became prevalent.  Sutherland would go on to “Ordinary People,” and Philip Kaufman would make “The Right Stuff.”  I watched the supplements about the making of the film.  It was interesting how they got the sound effects.  Donald Sutherland was one of those interviewed.  I thought that this Blu-ray edition looked pretty impressive.  I noticed some visual details that I couldn’t remember from previous viewings.  The only piece of music that I recalled was on the soundtrack was “Amazing Grace.”  I wish that somebody could come up with an idea for a science fiction movie that was as good as this one.  When I was done, it was almost nine o’clock and time for the Star Trek episode “Obsession” that was on Me TV.  Kirk was set on pursuing this cloud-like creature and killing it.  Spock benefitted from having copper-based blood.  The Enterprise reached a speed of Warp 8, and Scotty warned the captain, as he did in every other episode, that the ship was in danger of exploding.  I read that George Takei was critical of the new Star Trek movie.  I know that I don’t want the movies to focus on anyone’s sexual preferences.  I didn’t watch to watch “House of Dracula,” and so I prepared to go to sleep.  I heard that Serena Williams won her match.  Some of the people who died on July 10 include Jelly Roll Morton (1941), Arthur Fiedler (1979), and Mel Blanc (1989).  Today is a birthday for Chiwetel Ejiofor (39) and Sofia Vergara (44).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

