Sausage Party

I watched CBS Sunday Morning and liked watching the segment with Leslie Caron again.  They also showed us the process of making paper.  David Edelstein said that “Hell or High Water” was the best movie of the year, which made me think that I should go out to see it next weekend.  I spoke with my mother on the telephone, and she said that she was watching the Olympics marathon.  I went out to buy some groceries, and then I took the buses over to Jack London Square to see “Sausage Party.”  It was a wild animated film about food.  I guess you could say that the movie is like “This is The End” transferred to a supermarket.  The actors whose voices we heard included Michael Cera, James Franco, Bill Hader, Selma Hayek, Jonah Hill, Nick Kroll, David Krumholtz, Danny McBride, Edward Norton, Seth Rogen, Paul Rudd, and Kristen Wiig.  The food items call the world beyond the supermarket The Great Beyond, and they falsely believe that it is a paradise, a heaven.  Kristen Wiig is a hot dog bun named Brenda, and I thought that she and Salma Hayek were the funniest characters in the movie.  I thought I detected the influence of the Toy Story movies.  Some people in the theatre laughed loudly at all the jokes, but there were only two scenes that made me laugh.  One was the kitchen, starting with the potato, and then the last bits back at the supermarket.  I thought Edward Norton was good, as he sounded rather like Woody Allen as a bagel.  That was rather funny, considering that he was in “Everyone Says I Love You.”  I thought that Gum was an interesting character, a Stephen Hawking-like intellectual.  After a while, though, I thought he sounded less like Hawking.  Having seen previous movies with Seth Rogen, I wasn’t surprised that a character went on a drug trip.  It seemed awfully dangerous to suggest that bath oil could do the trick.  I don’t know why they had to insert a commentary on religion into this movie, and some of the ethnic humor was awfully uncomfortable.  I have a feeling, though, that this is one of those future cult movies.  It’s something of a refreshing change of pace from the animated films I’ve seen this year.  I saw too many animals in all those movies.  “Sausage Party” isn’t for the easily offended.  If Pat Boone were in the theatre, he certainly would have walked out, as he did when he went to see “Saturday Night Fever” years ago.  I would say that I liked “Sausage Party” more than “The Night Before.”  I cannot imagine that a sequel would be any good.  It would be better if these guys simply came up with a new idea.  Three Dog Night’s “Joy to the World” was on the soundtrack at the end.  That really brought back some memories.  I stuck around until the end credits were done, and I saw a security guard trying to wake up some guy who was sprawled out across a few seats like he was in bed.  I took a 72 bus to start back home, and then had to wait a long time for the 51B.  I think that AC Transit has become worse during this past month.  The riders are angry.  I stopped by the record store and bought a DVD box set of the second season of The Mary Tyler Moore Show.  My original copy had a scratched third disc.  The girl at the cash register charged me only $3.95, so I thought I was getting it on sale.  What I realized later was that she simply didn’t look at the price tag and just assumed I had picked out one of the bins instead of the shelves.  I listened to a discussion of the Raiders’ chaotic ticket sales in 1995.  I listened to the Robert Hilburn Rock ‘n’ Roll Times radio program on KCSN.  He looked back on the year 1976 and played tracks from some of the best albums of the year, such as Stevie Wonder’s “Songs in the Key of Life,” Neil Diamond’s “Beautiful Noise,” the Eagles’ “Hotel California,” Bob Seger’s “Night Moves,” and Tom Waits’ “Small Change.”  I would say that my favorite songs during the hour were “If You Know What I Mean” and “I Wish.”  It’s hard for me to believe that 1976 was forty years ago.  I watched Lesley Stahl on 60 Minutes talking about banks possibly becoming obsolete in this Internet age.  I wondered how Werner Herzog would have done the report.  I’m starting to become afraid of what will happen to all my money.  My father has faith in banks and his financial adviser.  The Columbo episode was “Blueprint for Murder,” and the cast included Patrick O’Neal, Janis Paige, Pamela Austin, John Fiedler, and Forrest Tucker.  O’Neal shouldn’t have changed the radio in the car to the classical music station.  One of the movie channels was showing “The Bridge on the River Kwai.”  I didn’t want to stay up until midnight for the ending with William Holden and Alec Guinness.  “The Anderson Tapes” was on another channel.  I liked Sean Connery and Dyan Cannon.  A kid with a radio caused a lot of trouble.  I tried to update some classroom handouts.  I wasn’t looking forward to the fall semester.  On my phone, I saw a news item about Donald Trump thinking about whether or not to deport 11 million people.  Did I get that right?  I thought the cost would be enormous, and the logistics seemed immensely difficult.  If Trump and Clinton are even in the polls in Iowa, I would like to know what the voters there are thinking.  I thought about how much I missed the old days, when I listened to Dr. Demento on Sunday nights.  One of my favorite songs was “Hamster Love.”  Some of the people who died on August 22 include Sebastian Cabot (1977), Huey Newton (1989), Nick Ashford (2011), and Jerry Leiber (2011).  Today is a birthday for Kristen Wiig (43), Cindy Williams (69), and Valerie Harper (77).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

