Le fabuleux destin d’Amélie Poulain

I went off to work and talked with someone about the best movies of the millennium.  From my phone, I got the news about the death of Gene Wilder.  It was sad to think that he had Alzheimer’s the past few years.  After I was done with my shift I went to the library and to the record store to pick up some movies on DVD.  I sat down to see “Amélie,” which was an enjoyable movie that made me think back to Louis Malle’s “Zazie dans le metro.”  We see the fourth wall broken down at times, but thankfully it wasn’t excessive.  The movie dwells on the observations of the little details in life, like hidden objects and people doing unusual jobs.  Back in 2001, people may have still been using photo booths, but with their phones, they can take pictures of themselves at any time without leaving behind waste paper.  It feels like things have really changed a lot in fifteen years.  Audrey Tautou was such a bright presence in this film.  I don’t know what happened to her afterwards.  I kept thinking about how much effort Amélie must have made in putting all those blue chalk mars on the ground.  I also thought about “An Angel at My Table” as I watched this movie.  According to IMDB, Jean-Pierre Jeunet began collecting the memories that made up this movie in 1974.  Also, the film crew would clean filming locations of trash and dirt to give them a look out of fantasy.  It was rather like a movie from MGM.  What would this movie have been like if Emily Watson hadn’t been doing “Gosford Park,” and she could speak French well?  I can’t imagine that it would have been better.  I like the unusual quality of this movie.  It makes you want to see it at least one more time.  I liked the misdirection on the event that changed Amélie’s life.  It wasn’t the death of Princess Diana.  I thought back on that time and how quickly the past 19 years have passed.  I saw that this movie was in my brother’s DVD collection and wondered what inspired him to watch it, because he normally didn’t watch foreign language films.  I thought it was a better movie than another French movie of years past, “Diva.”  Some of the people who died on August 30 include Charles Coburn (1961), Richard Jordan (1993), Lindsay Anderson (1994), Charles Bronson (2003), Glenn Ford (2006), Wes Craven (2015), and Oliver Sacks (2015).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

