Faa yeung nin wa

I watched “In the Mood for Love,” the movie directed by Kar-wai Wong.  It took place in Hong Kong in 1962, and it shows two couples living close to each other in a house.  One wife Su and one husband Chow suspect the other pair of having an affair, and they seem headed for an affair of their own.  The movie uses Nat King Cole’s music.  I felt somewhat tired of this movie halfway through.  I thought it was slow-moving without too much reward.  The movie that I kept thinking of as I was watching this one was “Falling in Love” with Meryl Streep and Robert De Niro.  I think I got tired of seeing movies about marriages a long time ago, but sometime after “Kramer vs. Kramer.”  I did wonder what happened to the Chris Rock marriage after I heard that news recently.  It seems that a lot of Asian movies I’ve seen use a theme of food and eating.  “In the Mood for Love” was rated the second best movie since 2000 in the BBC Source survey, but I just didn’t see it has a film of that quality.  I would say that I’m not a supporter of directors who don’t use scripts because I think a good movie has a strong plan and direction to it from the beginning.  I don’t think a lot of good comes out of improvisation.  You have to be some kind of fantastic genius if the ideas that pop into your head are brilliant and wonderful and worth recording on film.  Hardly anyone like that even exists, even among jazz musicians.  What people actually do a lot is blurt out a thought, and then later say, “Now that I think about it, I think the opposite.”  The title came from Kar-wai Wong listening to a Bryan Ferry CD.  He was born in 1956, so he is a bit older than I am, but I can appreciate his feeling for the 1960s.  “Chungking Express” was another movie of his that I have seen, but I can’t say that it made any lasting impression upon me.  If Kar-wai Wong’s work is like Jean-Luc Goddard’s, I can say that for similar reasons I’m not so enthusiastic about some of Goddard’s big movies.  The more I’m reading about Kar-wai Wong, the more I think his work is not to my tastes.  I have to go against all the critics who like him.  Some of the people who died on August 31 include Rocky Marciano (1969), John Ford (1973), Lady Diana (1997), and Lionel Hampton (2002).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

