Oldeuboi

After I was done with my evening class, I returned home and watched the DVD of “Oldboy.”  It was different from most Asian movies I’ve seen, coming from South Korea.  Its main character was named Dae-su, who brought to mind Charles Bronson.  He was imprisoned for fifteen years, and he’s now out and about and seeking revenge.  We get treated to the sight of him eating a live squid, and he does some impressive fighting.  There is a mystery that involves a girl falling into a dam, although it wasn’t quite so fascinating.  There was a scene with teeth that was worse than Laurence Olivier and Dustin Hoffman in “Marathon Man.”  There was a scene with a tongue that was not as bad as “Midnight Express.”  The director is Chan-Wook Park, and the actor is Choi Min-sik.  The movie was based on a manga by Garon Tsuchiya.  I thought it was a good movie, but I wouldn’t call it a masterpiece.  Besides the squid, I’ll remember the image of the ant coming out of the arm.  CGI is good for something every now and then.  Spike Lee remade this movie in 2013.  I didn’t see it, but I can’t imagine it being as good as this film.  I’m pretty close in age to Park, so I like the fact that he’s not too young to have something to say.  I like his dark humor, but if I were to make my own film, I’d avoid the violence and brutality.  Today is a birthday for Richard Gere (67), Van Morrison (71), and Itzhak Perlman (71).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

