Bir Zamanlar Anadolu’da

I watched “Once Upon a Time in Anatolia,” a movie from Turkey.  It shows the search for a dead body, taking place at night.  Things happen slowly, and the conversations between characters made me think back to Quentin Tarantino.  They discuss topics like yogurt, lamb chops, urination, family, spouses, ex-wives, death, suicide, hierarchy, bureaucracy, ethics, and their jobs.  Roger Ebert had praise for this movie, saying that the film is about how sad truths can be revealed during the slow process of doing a job.  He gave the movie three and a half stars.  The story of this movie was based on actual experiences of one of the writers of the script.  He was a doctor who had to work for two years in the town which is the setting in order to obtain his license.  I thought this was a pretty good movie, although it didn’t really excite me.  I’ve already seen movies about the elusive nature of truth, starting with “Rashomon.”  Nuri Bilge Ceylan was born in 1959, so I can appreciate the fact that he has thought about things for a while.  I don’t think I’ve seen any other of his movies.  I see that his ten favorite films, according to Sight and Sound, are “Andrei Rublev,” “Au Hasard Balthazar,” “L’Avventura,” “L’Eclisse,” “Late Spring,” “A Man Escaped,” “The Mirror,” “Scenes from a Marriage,” “Shame,” and “Tokyo Story.”  This list suggests to me that if I were alone in a room with him trying to converse with him, I might find him boring.  I want to have fun at the movies, especially if I am paying $11.50.  I usually think that movies that are about 157 minutes in length are about twenty minutes too long.  I found myself wishing that the daylight would come sooner than it did in this one.  Some of the people who died on September 1 include Ethel Waters (1977), Bart Giamatti (1989), R.L. Burnside (2005), Hal David (2012), and Dean Jones (2015).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

