Das weiße Band – Eine deutsche Kindergeschichte

I watched the DVD of “The White Ribbon,” set in a fictional German village in 1913.  It’s supposed to be about the roots of evil.  It was in black and white, and it made me think of Ingmar Bergman.  Some accidents occur, like a wire that causes horses to trip, a sawmill death, and a barn burning down.  Something off is happening with the children.  They are going to become Nazis in the years to come.  I read the Roger Ebert review, and he praised it highly.  I wasn’t so enthusiastic.  I think I probably would have preferred seeing “The Bad Seed” or “The Little Girl Who Lives Down the Lane.”  It felt like one of those foreign movies that moves along too slowly.  I feel like there was enough in it, though, that I should give it a second chance.  I felt pretty tired as I was watching it.  A lot of these foreign directors really want you to pay attention, as if movie viewing should be hard work.  The cinematography was definitely impressive.  The scene with the father striking and kicking his son was highly disturbing to me.  Some of the people who died on September 2 include J.R.R. Tolkien (1973), Troy Donahue (2001), Bob Denver (2005), and Bill Melendez (2008).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

