Only Lovers Left Alive

I wanted to go out to Best Buy to buy the Beatles live album.  They were selling it for $11.99.  After I got back, I watched the Jim Jarmusch movie “Only Lovers Left Alive.”  Its main characters were Adam and Eve, not from the Bible, but vampires.  Adam has a collection of musical instruments, and he once saw Eddie Cochran.  Tilda Swinton is Eve, and she is someone I could believe as a vampire, just as I could believe in John Hurt as a vampire after seeing “Midnight Express” and “The Elephant Man.”  These vampires don’t kill.  I didn’t expect Detroit to be the setting, but I will say that this was a better movie than “The Hunger” was.  The way that the characters were hanging out together, I thought I was watching “Stranger Than Paradise” with vampires.  Mia Wasikowska is Eve’s little sister Ava.  She is the guest who becomes unwelcome, like a John Belushi.  The vampire movie is not one type of movie that I like very much.  I thought that “The Lost Boys” and “Near Dark” during the 1980s were pretty good, but I haven’t like much since then, including “Let the Right One In.”  I remember that I did like “Fright Night” from 1985.  Now that I think about it, Tilda Swinton reminded me a bit of David Bowie, and also Vanessa Redgrave.  I noticed that two of the photos on Adam’s wall were of Joe Strummer and Neil Young.  Tom Hiddleston reminded me of Tim Burton.  I pretty much lost track of Jim Jarmusch after “Night on Earth,” but the movies I’ll always associate with him are “Stranger Than Paradise” and “Down By Law.”  I’ll never laugh at anything in a Jarmusch move the way I laughed at Tom Waits saying, “I scream, you scream, we all scream for ice cream.”  You can’t recapture moments like that, I guess.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

