Saul fia

Before I went to work, I watched “Son of Saul.”  It got some praise from people like Elie Wiesel and Steven Spielberg, and I found much of it extremely powerful.  However, I wished that some things had been done differently.  I didn’t like the approach to photographing the movie with a narrow field of vision.  It was supposed to add to the power of the content, but I just wished I could see more than what I was seeing.  Much of the time, we’re just looking at the back of Saul’s head, which is frustrating.  I don’t like the handheld camera approach, which we saw in movies like “The Wrestler.”  It makes me dizzy and sick to watch it all.  Saul didn’t seem to understand about Jewish burials.  He was really reckless in throwing the shovel into the river.  That was a disturbing scene.  I thought this was a much stronger movie than “Life is Beautiful” or “The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas,” which were both miscalculated.  The movie that came to my mind as I watched was “United 93.”  I’m not too sure that throwing the audience into the situation is the best idea.  It felt almost as if I was in a video game.  Another movie I thought about was “One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich.”  I admire László Nemes’ bravery and uncompromising work.  This movie seems like it may survive the ages and become an important artifact.  When I think about the movie some more, I can see why Claude Lanzmann, who directed “Shoah,” praised it so much.  Nemes did do something different and powerful.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

