Adieu au langage

I watched CBS This Morning and their chef segment.  Gabriel Kreuther’s signature recipes include Alsatian Baeckeoffe with three meats, Green Bibb salad with fine herbs, Alsatian pretzels with horseradish mustard dip, Brussel sprouts with apple wood smoked bacon, Baba Au Rhum with homemade whipped cream and berries, and The Kachelofen.  I looked up the American Top 40 playlist for the weekend.  The Top 10 songs on September 14, 1974 were “Clap for the Wolfman,” “You and Me Against the World,” “Then Came You” “Tell Me Something Good,” “Nothing From Nothing,” “Can’t Get Enough of Your Love, Baby,” “I’m Leaving It (All) Up to You,” “Rock Me Gently,” “(You’re) Having My Baby,” and “I Shot the Sheriff.”  I went to the laundromat to wash my blankets, and I hung out at the library to listen to Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell and to watch Jean-Luc Godard’s “Goodbye to Language.”  I had seen some very unusual movies from Godard, very difficult to watch and to like.  Compared to some of those creations, this one was a light and wonderful entertainment.  It had a man and a woman having an affair, and a dog wandering around.  I think I liked watching the dog more than anything else in the movie.  I liked “Breathless” when I first saw it years ago.  One good thing about “Goodbye to Language” was that it ran only 70 minutes.  A short Godard film is much better than a long one.  The movies that we see footage from were “Only Angels Have Wings,” “Les Enfants Terribles,” “Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde,” “By the Bluest of Seas,” and “The Snows of Kilimanjaro.”  I don’t know what Godard was trying to do with this movie, or any of his movies for a very long time.  I was almost happy to see this one, though, because it’s good to know that this old guy can come up with the goods.  Some of the people who died on September 18 include Leonhard Euler (1783), Frank Morgan (1949), Franchot Tone (1968), Jimi Hendrix (1970), Russ Meyer (2004), Steve Sabol (2012), and Ken Norton (2013).  Today is a birthday for Frankie Avalon (77) and June Foray (99).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

