Shame

I followed “10” with Steve McQueen’s “Shame.”  I have to keep reminding myself that this isn’t the Steve McQueen of “The Great Escape.”  Michael Fassbinder is a New Yorker named Brandon.  His life brings to mind “Fifty Shades of Grey” and “Last Tango in Paris.”  Finder is something like Christian Bale, too.  I did not want to see his genitals.  The movie is rated NC-17 for some pretty strong sex scenes.  There is also some blood.  A man who lives alone with his record player is going to find it difficult to deal with a woman intruding into his lifestyle, in this case his sister Sissy, played by Carey Mulligan.  She sang “New York, New York” in one scene, which brought to mind the Martin Scorsese movie, but I thought this rendition went on for way too long.  I also thought of “Bright Lights, Big City” as I watched this movie.  Brandon’s addiction is sex.  I wasn’t really convinced that a woman on the subway would really look at him the way she did in this movie.  The movie was interesting, but I wasn’t convinced at the end that it was a great movie.  Fassbinder really gave it his all in his performance, however.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

