Sang sattawat

After I was done with all my work for the today, I stopped to buy a beef burrito before I went home and sat down to watch “Syndromes and a Century.”  It was about doctors in Thailand, and the director was Apichatpong Weerasethakul, known for “Tropical Malady.”  There were all sorts of unusual moments, like the person selling orchids that he said glowed in the dark, or the question about what DDT stands for.  A monk said that he listened to American pop music.  People believe in reincarnation.  The director has said that the film is about memory.  Weerasethakul apparently changed the concept of the film, which was initially supposed to be about his parents.  The results show this deviation from the plan.  Weerasethakul said that the process of making the film, although I thought the content was slight.  It seems that he gets a lot of praise from movie critics, but I’m unexcited after watching his films.  Actually, I think I like this one more than the other two that I’ve seen.  I liked the scene with the recollection of a brother climbing a mango tree and falling.  I would like to like movies like this, but they seem like critics’ favorites to me.  There are reasons why audiences don’t flock to movies like “Syndromes and a Century.”  I believe in entertaining the audience first.  Some of the people who died on September 28 include Herman Melville (1891), Louis Pasteur (1895), Edwin Hubble (1953), Harpo Marx (1964), Miles Davis (1991), Elia Kazan (2003), and Arthur Penn (2010).  Today is a birthday for Naomi Watts (48), Mira Sorvino (49), and Brigitte Bardot (82).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for September 28, Bad Company’s first album, which featured “Can’t Get Enough” and “Movin’ On,” reached Number One on the Billboard album chart in 1974.  In 1976, A&M Records sued George Harrison for not meeting the deadline to complete his “33 & 1/3” album.  In 1995, Mary Tyler Moore returned to television with the premiere of “New York News” on CBS, although it would last for only eight episodes.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

